Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I am trying to enable TTYSnoop to work with SSH and I read that I need to recompile sshd with this command: ./configure --use-login=/bin/ttysnoops Where do I download the source ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    6

    Recompiling sshd


    I am trying to enable TTYSnoop to work with SSH and I read that I need to recompile sshd with this command:

    ./configure --use-login=/bin/ttysnoops

    Where do I download the source to sshd so that I can recompile it?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer jledhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,077

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    6
    I tried downloading OpenSSH and recompiling it. However, when I tried to run the "./configure --use-login=/bin/ttysnoops" it gave me an error saying that wasn't a valid switch.

    I think I need to recompile SSHD, not SSH. Where can I download the source for SSHD?

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    San Fran, CA USA
    Posts
    22
    sshd is the daemon that runs on the machine that serves ssh connections. It is a part openssh.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    6
    Ok so sshd is a part of openssh. Still, when I execute the command:

    ./configure --use-login=/bin/ttysnoops

    It says that it is an invalid switch. What is the proper way to make compile ssh to work with ttysnoop?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    San Fran, CA USA
    Posts
    22
    Sorry, don't use ttysnoop, can't be of any specific help.

    The invalid switch just means the configure script doesn't like the option you are trying to pass.

    I would take a look at the README or INSTALL (or configure) files that came with the openssh tarball and see what options are supported.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    6
    Yeah I took a look and that option is not listed in either of those files. Is it possible that they removed that switch? If so, is there a way to re-add it?

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    to see a list of (most) of the options in a particular configure script, issue this command:
    Code:
    ./configure --help|less
    that'll list most of what's in the configure script..
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    6
    Well I finally got ttysnoop working with ssh. It was a lot more complicated than using just that switch. If anyone is interested in how to do it, let me know.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1

    okay, me got trouble with ttysnoop too!

    hi, yeah, i have troubles with ttysnoop n sshd. Seems to work great with telnet, i recompiled sshd by first setting an environment variable LOGIN_PROGRAM=pathofttysnoops, and then ran the compile thing again, modified sshd_conf to uselogin, still doesn't seem to be working. Was wondering if you have been in similar waters!

    Thanks!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •