Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
Sudo allows a user administrative priveleges. The file /etc/sudoers defines which priveleges are allowed. Distros like Ubuntu grant the first user created on the system during installation full admin priveleges ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651

    Sudo allows a user administrative priveleges. The file /etc/sudoers defines which priveleges are allowed. Distros like Ubuntu grant the first user created on the system during installation full admin priveleges with sudo, and disable the root account.

    Sudoers Manual

    Su stands for substitute user, I believe, and allows you to log in to the shell of another user on the system, without logging out the first user. Commonly used to log in as root to run administrative tasks.

    I mistyped above, when using su and sudo together. (I'm used to just using sudo, but I couldn't recall if Debian sets that up or not.)

    You should not autologin as root. Most distros disable graphically logging in as root altogether, because it's such a bad idea.

    I don't know much about VMware, so can't help you there.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10
    thnx bro.


    Anyone knows howto INSTALL Tools on debian? cause i really want to make compatible with MAC operating system, but unfortunately there is an error when changing linux headers. thanx

  3. #13
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    The Ubuntu guide should be very similar to how you would do it in Debian.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/VMware/Tools

    Are you trying to run OS X as the guest OS? I don't think there is an official vmware tools for Mac. Here is some info on ways to try and get it working, though.

    http://pcwizcomputer.com/index.php?o...d=33&Itemid=32

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10
    No, Mac OS is the host. Debian is guest. so the error when clickin install VMware tools - "couldn't find linux.iso to mount" or something like this..

  5. #15
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Ah, then I would try the Ubuntu guide. Glancing through I didn't see anything that would be specific to Ubuntu and not apply to Debian.

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10
    May be the trouble is that iam using MacOS as host..whatever? this trouble can be solved..but how?..

  7. #17
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    You're going to have to post exactly what you tried and any specific error messages. We don't have enough info to try and troubleshoot further, otherwise.

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10
    first of all, is it neccesary to install tools via pressing install VMware tools? i am talkin only bout terminal commands.. is it possible to install via terminal only?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •