Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I am new to linux, i want to unpack .deb package on linux environment. i used command dpkg -i file_name.deb it givs error command not found, please help....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3

    Unpack .deb


    I am new to linux,

    i want to unpack .deb package on linux environment.

    i used command dpkg -i file_name.deb

    it givs error command not found,

    please help.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer hazel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    1,188
    I suspect you are trying to run before you can walk. Why do you want to unpack a .deb by hand? That's an expert's job. The usual way to install software in Debian systems is to use a front end like apt-get, aptitude or synaptic, which does all the work for you.

    In Windows you download packages through your browser and then unpack them. The package contains an installation script and that's what you use to install. In Linux, you ask a package manager like apt-get or synaptic to get software for you; it downloads the package from an official software repository, unpacks and installs it.

    Give me a bit of background on this. What are you actually trying to do?
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas.
    Posts
    57
    I have to agree with hazel. One of the reasons I use Debian is because of the easy of instlation; Also the number of apps available for my system.

    I can't remember the last time I went hunting for a .deb package to install. No need for that if you're using Debian. Apt-get install app or with Synaptic will do it for you.

  4. #4
    Just Joined! sathiya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    97
    Extract the deb using ar command.
    Code:
    ar -x file.deb

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6
    Are you sure you're in the right folder when you execute the command? Sounds like you're trying to do it fro a folder the file isn't in.

  6. #6
    Just Joined! barriehie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    The Desert!
    Posts
    85
    Are you signed in as root when trying to install the package???

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •