Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Well I figured a week was enough of playing around with Linux so I decided to go ahead and try and update to the ATI released drivers. Well fisrt I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    19

    ATI driver.. I goofed


    Well I figured a week was enough of playing around with Linux so I decided to go ahead and try and update to the ATI released drivers. Well fisrt I couldn't get a source for my kernal anywhere 2.6.8-1-386 there is just no source for this on the net. so after going around looking there was a "tailoring" way to take the 2.6.8-7 and tailor is to 1-386. Well I did this and things seemed good. I followed the directions from this page http://xoomer.virgilio.it/flavio.sta...installer.html
    everything went just like it was supposed to, but now Xserver will not start. Should i just start over and see if it takes again or what? I am unsure of what might be wrong as I followed everything to the T. Wehn i get home today i will post the error message that comes up to see if there is something in there that is set wrong. Also I did notice that it says it cannot find my mouse and a graphics card on a PCI bus. The PCI bus thing is odd as I have an AGP graphics card. If anyone has any input at this time it would be appritiated. I can always just ghost back to before I did this(norton ghost can be a savour some times). Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Yeah...post the errors when you get home. Also post your xorg.conf (or XF86Config). Please take out the commented code to reduce the cruft that we have to sort through.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    19
    I will get this tonight. I tried the other night, but other obligations always get in the way.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    14
    Hi reddragon72

    I might be able to help you out. Even give a step-by-step guide, but first I am ought to know which destro are you on. If it's Mandrake (10.1) I most likely know what's wrong with your box (cos I am on Mandrake myself). Otherwise we will have to improvise (cos I haven't got a first idea how the other distros are build ).

    Best regards

    it-s

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    19
    I'm using Debian testing(sarge) I have tryed going back through the whole process, but nothing.
    Right now I'm in XP, but I'm trying to find something that'll let me have access to the Linux partition. As soon as i can get that I'll post the output of some files.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    14
    Hi reddragon72

    before you overload your Winoz with a tonmn and a half of useless soft take a look here. I have made a step-by-step guide that might work assuming that I am correct regarding the cause of an error.

    Now start your Linux as usual:

    Once loading is finished and your X server faled you should be in the console prompt.
    Here, I assume, it will ask you for your user name and password as follows
    (Note you must be logged in as root in order to make some changes in your system)
    Code:
    User Name: root
    Password: *********************
    (An actual input screen may be actualy different the here. From now on everywhere you see stars, like so *, means
    that this particular word/phrase/command might be different in your system)

    Now you should see something like this:
    Code:
    [*@localhost /root]#
    This means you are in the root home dirrectory. There is nothing to do here so use cd .. command to exit it:
    Code:
    [*@localhost /root]# cd ..
    This will bring you to the very base of your system ( if it does not cd .. until you see this [*@localhost /]# )
    Code:
    [*@localhost /]#
    now use ls to see the content:
    Code:
    [*@localhost /]# ls
    You now should see something like this:
    Code:
    bin/   dev/  home/    lib/         mnt/  proc/  sbin/  tmp/  var/
    boot/  etc/  initrd/  lost+found/  opt/  root/  sys/   usr/
    Now to begine with let's fix your mouse problem. (You did say X was complaining about mouse)

    Use cd dev to ented your device directory:
    Code:
    [*@localhost /]# cd dev
    now use ls to see the content:
    Code:
    [*@localhost dev]# ls
    You should see something like this:
    Code:
    adsp      hdb       mixer     ram9        tty10  tty32  tty54    usbmouse@
    agpgart   hdb1      mouse@    random      tty11  tty33  tty55    vc/
    apm_bios  hdc       null      rd/         tty12  tty34  tty56    vcc/
    audio     hdc1      port      rtc         tty13  tty35  tty57    vcs
    cdrom@    hdd       ppp       sda         tty14  tty36  tty58    vcs1
    cdrom0@   ide/      psaux     sda1        tty15  tty37  tty59    vcs2
    cdroms/   initctl   psmouse   sequencer   tty16  tty38  tty6     vcs3
    console   input/    ptmx      sequencer2  tty17  tty39  tty60    vcs4
    core@     kmem      pts/      sg0         tty18  tty4   tty61    vcs5
    discs/    kmsg      ram0      sg1         tty19  tty40  tty62    vcs6
    dri/      log=      ram1      shm/        tty2   tty41  tty63    vcs7
    dsp       loop/     ram10     snd/        tty20  tty42  tty7     vcsa
    dvd@      loop0     ram11     sound/      tty21  tty43  tty8     vcsa0@
    fb0       loop1     ram12     sr0         tty22  tty44  tty9     vcsa1
    fd@       loop2     ram13     sr1         tty23  tty45  ttyS0    vcsa2
    fd0       loop3     ram14     st0         tty24  tty46  ttyS1    vcsa3
    fd1       loop4     ram15     st1         tty25  tty47  ttyS2    vcsa4
    floppy/   loop5     ram2      stderr@     tty26  tty48  ttyS3    vcsa5
    full      loop6     ram3      stdin@      tty27  tty49  ttyS4    vcsa6
    hda       loop7     ram4      stdout@     tty28  tty5   ttyS5    vcsa7
    hda1      md/       ram5      tts/        tty29  tty50  ttyS6    zero
    hda2      md0       ram6      tty         tty3   tty51  ttyS7
    hda5      mem       ram7      tty0        tty30  tty52  urandom
    hda6      misc/     ram8      tty1        tty31  tty53  usb/
    What you are looking for is a word mouse here it could be either: mouse or mouse0 or psmouse
    if you do NOT see any of the above mentioned examples you may as well check for a directory
    named input/ or mouse/ . If such a directory is present use cd to enter it:
    Code:
    [*@localhost dev]# cd input
    use ls to see the content:
    Code:
    [*@localhost input]# ls
    
    mice  mouse0
    IMPORTANT
    Now in any case, as soon as the mouse device found WRITE THE LOCATION DOWN
    Down here I have made some examples for you:

    /dev/input/mouse0 ##/dev/psaux ##/dev/mouse ##/dev/mouse0 ##/dev/mouse/mouse0

    Only one of this if a right device location so try to find yours.

    Now assuming that the aproppriate device had been found type fglrxconfig to start ATI configuration
    utility.
    Code:
    [*@localhost input]# fglrxconfig
    This is what you will see:
    Code:
    ==============================================================================
    ATI - FIRE GL - BE THE CREATOR
    ==============================================================================
    
    This program will create the ATI "XF86Config-4" file
    - based on your selections - for the below listed boardtypes...
    
    - ATI Radeon 8500 / 9100
    - ATI FireGL 8700 / 8800 / E1
    - ATI FireGL T2
    - ATI Radeon 9000
    - ATI Radeon 9200
    - ATI Radeon 9500
    - ATI Radeon 9600
    - ATI Radeon 9700
    - ATI Radeon 9800
    - ATI FireGL Z1 / X1 / X2
    - ATI Mobility M9
    - ATI Mobility FireGL 9000
    - ATI Mobility M9PLUS
    
    The "XF86Config-4" file usually resides in /etc/X11.
    
    
    Press [Enter] to continue, press 'q'&[Enter] or [Ctrl]+'c' to abort.
    Since you have mentioned you had alredy been through this config I will skip the unnecessery detales.
    However should you feel the need in a complete guide just say so and I will update my post.

    Here is the mouse configuration part:

    Code:
    ==============================================================================
    Mouse
    ==============================================================================
    
    Specify the mouse port type. Choose one from the following list:
    
    1. Serial Port
    2. PS/2 or USB with PS/2 protocol
    3. Inport Bus
    
    Enter the number for your port type&#58; &#91;2&#93; 2 <I enter 2 here for I use PS/2 mouse. You must enter the type of mouse you are using.
    
    Specify the mouse model. Choose one from the following list&#58;
    
    1. PS/2 Mouse &#40;X11 generic ps/2 mouse driver&#41;
    2. PS/2 Wheel Mouse &#40;X11 generic ps/2 wheel mouse driver&#41;
    3. Microsoft Intellimouse &#40;PS2&#41;
    4. Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer &#40;PS2&#41;
    5. Kensington ThinkingMouse &#40;PS2&#41;
    6. Logitech MouseManPlus &#40;PS2&#41;
    7. Alps Glidepoint PS/2 Touchpad
    8. Genius NetMouse
    9. Genius NetScroll
    
    Enter the number for your mouse model&#58; &#91;2&#93; 2
    
    
    If your mouse has only two buttons, it is recommended that you enable
    Emulate3Buttons.
    
    Do you want to enable Emulate3Buttons &#40;y/n&#41;? &#91;n&#93; n
    THIS PART IS WHERE YOU PROBABLY MADE AN ERROR:
    Code:
    Mouse device&#58; &#91;/dev/mouse&#93; ********* < enter a complete patch to where your mouse device is as well as the device name!
    For instance if your mouse is in /dev/ and it is named mouse0 type /dev/mouse0

    The rest of the configuration should go as usual.

    ****************------------------------**********************

    Now lets try to fix the PCI bus issue (assuming that I am correct as to why an error had accured)

    This is the finishing screen of fglrxconfig:
    Code:
    ==============================================================================
    Finish
    ==============================================================================
    
    I am going to write the XF86Config-4 file now. Make sure you don't accidently
    overwrite a previously configured one.
    
    Shall I write it to '/etc/X11/XF86Config-4' &#40;y/n&#41;? y <type y to save configuration
    
    
    Probing PCI bus for a supported graphics device...
    found&#58; R350 &#40;NH&#41;
    PCI bus slot&#58; PCI&#58;2&#58;0&#58;0
    
    entering the detected PCI bus slot into the XF86Config-4 file.
    
    
    File has been written. Take a look at it before running 'startx'.
    Note that the XF86Config-4 file must be in one of the directories
    searched by the server &#40;e.g. /etc/X11&#41; in order to be used.
    
    Within the server press ctrl, alt and 'Num+' or 'Num-' simultaneously
    to cycle video resolutions.
    Pressing ctrl, alt and backspace simultaneously immediately exits the server.
    Use these keys if the monitor doesn't sync for a particular mode.
    
    For further configuration, refer to /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/doc/README.Config.
    
    Now you are back to console&#58;
    
    &#91;*@localhost dev&#93;
    Use cd .. to exit dev/ directory:
    Code:
    &#91;*@localhost dev&#93;# cd..
    now use ls to view the content:
    Code:
    &#91;*@localhost /&#93;# ls
    bin/   dev/  home/    lib/         mnt/  proc/  sbin/  tmp/  var/
    boot/  etc/  initrd/  lost+found/  opt/  root/  sys/   usr/
    use cd etc to go to your system configuration directory:
    Code:
    &#91;*@localhost /&#93;# cd etc
    use ls here:
    Code:
    &#91;*@localhost etc&#93;# ls
    What you are looking for is X11 configuration folder
    Code:
    a2ps.cfg              ifplugd/                
    a2ps-site.cfg         im_palette.pal          pbm2ppa.conf
    adjtime               im_palette-small.pal    pcmcia/
    aliases@              im_palette-tiny.pal     pentaxpj.conf
    allegrorc             imrc                    pnm2ppa.conf
    alternatives/         info-dir                postfix/
    armagetron/           init.d@                 ppp/
    asound.st***
    		---------*****-------------
    ****edb.conf
    gshadow               netplug/                urpmi/
    gshadow-              netplug.d/              version
    gtk/                  netprofile/             vim/
    gtk-2.0/              nsswitch.conf           wgetrc
    host.conf             oaf/                    X11/ <THIS IS IT
    hosts                 openldap/               xdg/
    hosts.allow           openoffice/             xinetd.conf
    hosts.deny            pam.d/                  xinetd.d/
    hosts.mdkgiorig       pango/                  xml/
    hotplug/              paper.config
    hotplug.d/            passwd
    use cd X11 to enter directory (mind that there is a difference betwin upper and lower cases)
    Code:
    &#91;*@localhost etc&#93;# cd X11
    use ls to view the content:
    Code:
    &#91;*@localhost X11&#93;# ls
    You will probably see something like this:
    Code:
    app-defaults/  starthere/      XF86Config.uninstall       xorg.conf.old
    encodings.dir  twm/            XftConfig.README-OBSOLETE  Xresources*
    fs/            wmsession.d/    xinit/                     xserver/
    lbxproxy/      X@              xinit.d/                   Xsession*
    prefdm*        xdm/            xkb/                       xsetup.d/
    proxymngr/     XF86Config-4    Xmodmap                    xsm/
    rstart/        XF86Config.conf xorg.conf
    You are looking for a file named XF86Config.conf this is the file fglrx configuration ATI's config utility just made and
    xorg.conf which is what your system is trying to use.

    If this is what you see there that means you have X.Org X-server installed instead of usual XFree. Now if that is so
    (AND ONLY IF THAT IS SO) use mv command to rename XF86Config.conf file into xorg.conf:
    Code:
    &#91;*@localhost X11&#93;# mv XF86Config.conf xorg.conf
    Now that this is done use startx command to start your X-server:
    Code:
    &#91;*@localhost X11&#93;# startx
    This shoud be all.

    Please feel free to ask questions if any.

    Best regards

    it-s[/code]

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    19
    I wish that I would have seen this last night, but once again the call of duty had me running. I will go through this proceedure tonight. I'm here at work now that has a debian package loaded and I took a look at the xf86config-4 file here and it looks nothing like mine at home. this one here is all nice and neat, and that is what mine used to look like, but now it looks really thrashed with all sorta entries everywhere. I looked at the backup file with the ~ and it looked good, not as clean as the one here, but good none the less. How can I swap those around? I think my x86config file is debunked totally. I'll look for the command to rename those files ans swap them around. Also some one gave me a name of a text editor for the command line, but I have totally forgotted what it was. the name of it was I think a guys name or something like that. Anyways I'll do everything in the steps you have provided if nothing comes of that then I'll swap those files around, and see what happens. Thanks for all the help guys. Also some of the error's are output to a file, I still have cups running, but how can I print the log file?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    19
    Wel as of right now it appears that the fglrx driver has not loaded up properly. I will try a few other things, before dropping back to me backup of the c drive. Thanks for the input tho, but this is just odd, as I cannot even get the VESA driver to load up right.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    19
    It-s <<< Ok man after reinstalling everything and then going through you steps it works. I am now back in KDE with glxgears giving me around 3400 FPS. I'm not sure if that is correct, but it's better than the 320 I was getting before. Once again thanks for your help.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    14
    You are welcome and best of luck.

    it-s

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •