Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Grub Wont Load Windows. The Option is not there. Its Debian. HELP...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    5

    Grub Wont Load Windows.


    Grub Wont Load Windows.

    The Option is not there.
    Its Debian.
    HELP

  2. #2
    tpl
    tpl is offline
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    cleveland
    Posts
    478
    welcome to the forum

    try putting this at the end of your /boot/grub/menu.lst

    title xp
    root (hd0,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader +1

    assumes windows is on the first hard drive, first partition
    the sun is new every day (heraclitus)

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    5
    sorry but i cant find my menu.lst in /boot/grub/

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by darkvai101 View Post
    sorry but i cant find my menu.lst in /boot/grub/
    Welcome to the forums!

    Sometimes, it will be grub.conf rather than menu.lst file.

    If you are using GRUB2, it will be grub.cfg but you shouldn't edit that file, but edit the /etc/default/grub file instead.
    oz

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Which version of Debian are you using?

    Post the contents of /boot/grub/grub.cfg file and output of fdisk -l command here.
    Code:
    su
    /sbin/fdisk -l
    * Its small L in fdisk -l.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    5
    my grub looks like this-

    menuentry{

    #stuff here

    }

    sorry for this
    im using live cd because net doesnt work in debian

  8. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the output of fdisk -l command here as I suggested earlier.
    Did you mount / partition of Debian in LiveCD to copy contents of grub.cfg file?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •