Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
When I type "startx", it sais this: Code: server:/home/jst# startx warning: process set to nice value 0 instead of -10 as requested XFree86 Version 3.3.6a / X Window System (protocol ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Jst
    Jst is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    68

    X Server not working.


    When I type "startx", it sais this:
    Code:
    server:/home/jst# startx
    
    warning: process set to nice value 0 instead of -10 as requested
    
    XFree86 Version 3.3.6a / X Window System
    (protocol Version 11, revision 0, vendor release 6300)
    Release Date: xx November 2000
            If the server is older than 6-12 months, or if your card is newer
            than the above date, look for a newer version before reporting
            problems.  (see http://www.XFree86.Org/FAQ)
    Operating System: Linux 2.4.13 i686 [ELF]
    Configured drivers:
      VGA16: server for 4-bit colour VGA (Patchlevel 0):
          ET4000, ET4000W32, ET4000W32i, ET4000W32i_rev_b, ET4000W32i_rev_c,
          ET4000W32p, ET4000W32p_rev_a, ET4000W32p_rev_b, ET4000W32p_rev_c,
          ET4000W32p_rev_d, ET6000, ET6100, et3000, ncr77c22, ncr77c22e, ati,
          sis86c201, sis86c202, sis86c205, sis86c215, sis86c225, sis5597,
          sis5598, sis6326, sis530, sis620, sis300, sis630, sis540, tvga8200lx,
          tvga8800cs, tvga8900b, tvga8900c, tvga8900cl, tvga8900d, tvga9000,
          tvga9000i, tvga9100b, tvga9200cxr, tgui9400cxi, tgui9420, tgui9420dgi,
          tgui9430dgi, tgui9440agi, cyber9320, tgui9660, tgui9680, tgui9682,
          tgui9685, cyber9382, cyber9385, cyber9388, cyber9397, cyber9520,
          cyber9525, 3dimage975, 3dimage985, cyber9397dvd, blade3d, cyberblade,
          oti067, oti077, oti087, oti037c, cl6410, cl6412, cl6420, cl6440,
          generic
      MONO: server for interlaced and banked monochrome graphics adaptors
            (Patchlevel 0):
          hgc1280, sigmalview, apollo9, hercules
    (using VT number 7)
    
    XF86Config: /etc/X11/XF86Config
    (**) stands for supplied, (--) stands for probed/default values
    (--) no ModulePath specified using default: /usr/X11R6/lib/modules
    pex5.so: Unknown error loading module
    xie.so: Unknown error loading module
    (**) XKB: rules: "xfree86"
    (**) XKB: model: "pc104"
    (**) XKB: layout: "us"
    (**) Mouse: type: PS/2, device: /dev/psaux, buttons: 5
    (**) Mouse: 3 button emulation (timeout: 50ms)
    (**) Mouse: zaxismapping: (-)4 (+)5
    (**) MONO: Monitor ID: "Generic Monitor"
    (--) MONO: Mode "1280x960" needs hsync freq of 85.94 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1280x1024" needs hsync freq of 79.98 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1280x1024" needs hsync freq of 91.15 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1600x1200" needs hsync freq of 75.00 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1600x1200" needs hsync freq of 81.25 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1600x1200" needs hsync freq of 87.50 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1600x1200" needs hsync freq of 93.75 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1600x1200" needs hsync freq of 106.25 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1792x1344" needs hsync freq of 83.66 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1792x1344" needs hsync freq of 106.27 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1856x1392" needs hsync freq of 86.35 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1856x1392" needs hsync freq of 112.50 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1920x1440" needs hsync freq of 90.00 kHz. Deleted.
    (--) MONO: Mode "1920x1440" needs hsync freq of 112.50 kHz. Deleted.
    
    Config Error: /etc/X11/XF86Config:250
    
    EndSection
    ^^^^^^^^^^^
    A screen must specify a device
    X connection to :0.0 broken (explicit kill or server shutdown).
    Does anyone know how to fix my problem.

  2. #2
    Linux User nalg0rath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    303
    In your /etc/X11/XF86Config file you will find a monitor section that looks someting like this:
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
     Identifier "Generic Monitor"
     ...
     HorizSync [num]
     VertRefresh [num]
    EndSection
    Here you have to edit the number that comes after "HorizSync" so that it works with the Mode you want to use.

  3. #3
    Jst
    Jst is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    68
    Still doesnt work, it sais the same.

    Jst.

  4. #4
    Jst
    Jst is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    68
    K, I fixed it, tnx anyway.
    Jst.

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    165
    Quote Originally Posted by Jst
    K, I fixed it, tnx anyway.
    Jst.
    Please mention what it was so others with similar probs have something to try

  6. #6
    Jst
    Jst is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    68
    Well, my config said that my screen dind't specify a device. In this case my device is my videocard. So I edited my /etc/X11/XF86Config and in the last part of this configfile I changed a couple of things:

    I choosed to use "xserver-xfree86", u can do this by entering the command:
    Code:
    dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86
    This is what it used to be:
    Code:
    Section "Screen"
        Driver "Mono"
        Monitor "Generic Monitor"
        SubSection "Display"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection    
    
    Section "Screen"
        Driver "VGA16"
        Monitor "Generic Monitor"
        SubSection "Display"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection    
    
    Section "Screen"
        Driver "VGA2"
        Monitor "Generic Monitor"
        SubSection "Display"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    I changed it to this:
    Code:
    Section "Screen"
        Driver "Mono"
        Monitor "Generic Monitor"
        Device "VideoCard"
        SubSection "Display"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection    
    
    Section "Screen"
        Driver "VGA16"
        Monitor "Generic Monitor"
        Device "VideoCard"
        SubSection "Display"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection    
    
    Section "Screen"
        Driver "VGA2"
        Monitor "Generic Monitor"
        Device "VideoCard"
        SubSection "Display"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection

    After that when i wanted to start the xserver, it said that he could load a module because there was onother one that contained the same info as the module I could'nt load, so i just deleted the module with the same content as the one I wanted to load.

    After that it all just started working .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •