Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hello, I just installed Debian (again) and I cannot see the graphical interface. I am left at the command prompt at boot and have to type startx after I logon ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    9

    Debian install GUI problem


    Hello,
    I just installed Debian (again) and I cannot see the graphical interface. I am left at the command prompt at boot and have to type startx after I logon to start KDE (and save my preferences all over again).
    I did a minimal install from Debian CD and over the network and for some reason tasksel did not work for me. I therefore installed KDEbase x-window-system later using aptitude. Now for the life of me, I cannot figure out how to boot into KDE by default. I tried running
    dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86 (what I had read on this forum) and although that did allow me to reconfigure X, I still cannot boot into graphical mode directly.
    One other thing: All the cursors I see are X cursors (black arrow, small watch). How do I get to use KDE cursors by default?
    Any help will be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    You need to setup the default login manager to kdm in your situation. I'll edit this post once I get home with more information on how to do this.
    The best things in life are free.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    9
    I did try configuring KDM, the console shows that KDM starts up and that XDM does not as KDM is the default.
    I installed GDM and it works fine., although I do not know how. I do not want to use GDM, but I have to since that is the only one which allows me to login graphically without having to use startx or kdm.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    So you do have a graphical login via KDM?

    To change the mouse cursor theme, first you'll have to find the theme you like: apt-cache search themes | grep -i mouse

    (There are other ways to find the package)

    Then install the package and then after that, run: update-alternatives --config x-cursor-theme
    The best things in life are free.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    9
    My previous post might be confusing. I have kdm set as my default manager, but if I keep using it, then I do not get the graphical interface.
    I installed GDM, removed XDM and now, I get the familiar GNOME login screen. Why is this? I mean, I dont want to use GNOME at all, why can't KDM boot into the GUI by itself as GDM does?
    I tried all other things suggested such as changing the runlevel in /etc/inittab and so forth, but nothing works.
    I tried running dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86 but that does not help either.
    The summary is this:
    I need a GUI when I boot up, GDM works (but I dont want to use it) and KDM does not, no matter what I do.
    Thanks for the help.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    165
    there is a file called /etc/X11/default-display-manager
    change this to /usr/bin/kdm, see if this works

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    So-Cal
    Posts
    17
    Parcifal, I had the same problem on my parents computer a few months ago, KDM just wouldn't start up at boot, but when you logged in as root and ran it from the command line it would start normally. There are a few bug reports on this, but I haven't seen any progress and I still have the same issue even after weekly apt-get updates.

    As bad as it sounds, you may just have to suck it up and use GDM or XDM.

    Here's the DB page:

    http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/pkgre...kdm&archive=no

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    165
    kdm works fine for me here after a fresh install

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    9
    I agree with ecliptic...it seems like a bug since it affected me 2 out of 3 times while installing Debian. I cannot figure out why it worked when it did. I am using gdm for now (not something I would have chosen) and hoping it is fixed soon.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •