Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi to all of you As a newbie I tried to set up an automatic program restart on Debian Lenny for fail2ban and asterisk. Google helped me to find some ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

[SOLVED] Setting up an automatic program restart

Hi to all of you

As a newbie I tried to set up an automatic program restart on Debian Lenny for fail2ban and asterisk. Google helped me to find some HowTos. However, all what I tried so far doesn't work. The latest version: According some instructions the following commands have been written in a file called auto_start_stop:
    Code:
    #! /bin/sh
    # /etc/init.d/auto_start_stop
    cd
    /etc/init.d/fail2ban start
    asterisk
    This file has been
    -> saved in the folder /etc/init.d and
    -> its properties changed with a right-click to 075.
    -> The links have been created with update-rc.d auto_start_stop defaults

Any ideas why this doesn't work and how I could correct it?

Putting it in init.d does nothing to get it executed. Under what circumstances do you want it executed? Specific times or what?

Just Joined!
    Hi,
    If you want a program to start automatically and be restarted if it breaks,
    run it from /etc/inittab.
    I don't know the full syntax but this might put you on the right lead.
    Hope this helped.
    Santiago

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    I could finally get the restart for asterisk to work. With Fail2ban I seem to have an other problem; I only found out now that for some still unknown reasons it actually doesn't yet run. This has to be solved before treating its automatic restart.

Quote Originally Posted by METsen View Post
    As a newbie I tried to set up an automatic program restart on Debian Lenny for fail2ban and asterisk.