Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
New problem with compaq 610 160GB 2GB intel duo core 2.0. This machine will simply not run sound apps on any distro I've tried with. Any ideas?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    88

    Angry Compaq 610 sound problem


    New problem with compaq 610 160GB 2GB intel duo core 2.0.
    This machine will simply not run sound apps on any distro I've tried with.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast Mudgen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    664
    Linlap.com says that pretty much everything works with that notebook in Opensuse 11.1, and that absolutely everything does in Fedora 11 (so presumably 12 and 13 should be OK). They note that Ubuntu and other Debians are not so good on it, specifically mentioning sound issues.

    They do say that a modprobe line helps:
    Fix the no sound problem with adding the line"options snd-hda-intel model=dell-m4-1” to file /etc/modprobe.d/sound (/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf on Ubuntu)

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Lacey WA
    Posts
    4

    Smile Fix sound problem

    Quote Originally Posted by njuguna View Post
    New problem with compaq 610 160GB 2GB intel duo core 2.0.
    This machine will simply not run sound apps on any distro I've tried with.

    Any ideas?
    Had a sound problem on a little Sony Vaio with linux (Puppy) and fixed it with a USB sound card; I paid $15 locally but have seen them for $10 or less online, for example: if you search for "usb sound card" you'll find the one I bought at buyextrasdotcom --the BXT USB Stereo Audio/MIC Sound Card. This one is 7.95 + 2.95 shipping.

    I paid more locally...just to get it fast. And it works fine...in case the other suggestions don't work for you.

    Sr. Dorothy
    Last edited by drobinson; 06-23-2010 at 01:20 AM. Reason: Info left out

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    88
    Let me try this.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    88
    Some technician said that this powerstation is a 64-bit machine, weakdos says that too!
    However, how comes it runs 32-bit apps? I thought they dont speak same language...
    Still, mandriva 2009 live cd when booting produces a annoying sound like that of a spoilt woofer gone wild, and does not finish booting. Knoppix is quiet; not even a message.
    Solaris 2009.06 says gstreamer is not working???

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Lacey WA
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by njuguna View Post
    Some technician said that this powerstation is a 64-bit machine, weakdos says that too!
    However, how comes it runs 32-bit apps? I thought they dont speak same language...
    Still, mandriva 2009 live cd when booting produces a annoying sound like that of a spoilt woofer gone wild, and does not finish booting. Knoppix is quiet; not even a message.
    Solaris 2009.06 says gstreamer is not working???
    Here's some info about processors... processorfinder.intel dot com

    Sr. Dorothy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •