Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
Okay ! My Mistake. You are using Debian and I though its Ubuntu. Use su - to gain root privileges. This time, type password of root user instead of your ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729

    Okay ! My Mistake. You are using Debian and I though its Ubuntu.
    Use su - to gain root privileges.
    This time, type password of root user instead of your own password.
    Code:
    su -
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  2. #12
    Just Joined! Qbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    11
    Looks like it took the changes- i am now sitting at the command prompt .

    reboot via power cycle to is there a command for that?

  3. #13
    Just Joined! shtromm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by Qbit View Post
    Looks like it took the changes- i am now sitting at the command prompt .

    reboot via power cycle to is there a command for that?
    Just restart the X-server e.g. via CTRL + ALT + BackSP

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined! Qbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by shtromm View Post
    Just restart the X-server e.g. via CTRL + ALT + BackSP
    I ended up rebooting via power as ctrl+alt+bksp didn"t work.
    I went back and checked the xorg file and changes were there with lower H refresh rate.
    I am still getting the same error on the monitor about out of range."Out of Range" 68.7kHZ/85HZ

    what's next? i'm guessing go lower yet...

  6. #15
    Just Joined! Qbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    11
    i ended up going lower again on the h refresh and got the screen to come back. Now it will not take my login and password for some reason. any ideas?

  7. #16
    Just Joined! Qbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    11
    i just tried to login though the command line and it accepts my login no problems. When I try to login through the welcome screen it takes my login and after a brief pause, takes me back to the welcome screen again. Anyone please help!
    qbit

  8. #17
    Just Joined! shtromm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    31
    Mmmhh ... could have two causes:

    1) The home-directory is not readable - Test: Go to the Login-Menu and try to login as "fail save". If this works, the home directory is reable

    2) The GUI does not start - in this case log "fail save" and reinstate the orginal xorg.conf (from posting No. 3 - http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/deb...tml#post788835 ):

    Code:
    su
    mv xorg.conf xorg.conf.bak.2
    mv xorg.conf.bak xorg.conf
    and restart the x-server

  9. #18
    Just Joined! Qbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    11
    i don't understand the log in under "fail safe" . Is that the user name? If so what do I use for a password?
    And when you say login- menu do you mean the Blue Debian "welcome" login page??

  10. #19
    Just Joined! shtromm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by Qbit View Post
    i don't understand the log in under "fail safe" . Is that the user name? If so what do I use for a password?
    And when you say login- menu do you mean the Blue Debian "welcome" login page??
    You have menu at the login-screen "session type" - here find a "fail save", which will not start a GUI, but give you a shell.

    If this login fails, there is most likely a problem with your home directory. So this is a first test to be sure that you login-difficulties are not caused by this.

  11. #20
    Just Joined! Qbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    11
    ok the session login did not work so I guess I have a home directory problem. what can I do about that?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •