Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi all, I can't believe I'm still struggling with this sound problem. But I haven't given up and have no reason to do so. So I been playing around with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    52

    Alsamixer has no PCM option


    Hi all, I can't believe I'm still struggling with this sound problem. But I haven't given up and have no reason to do so. So I been playing around with alsamixer and noticed that everything had a option except the PCM section. See here for pic... So if anyone has any solutions to add to my hunt to fix this I'd appreciate it. Thanx in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    We need more info.

    Code:
    wget -O alsa-info.sh http://212.20.107.51/alsa-info.sh
    bash ./alsa-info.sh
    It will upload the output and give you a url. Please post that.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    52
    This is a lot of info so I posted it here.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    I think the easiest thing to try for now is upgrading to a more recent version of alsa and see if that fixes things.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    52
    Okay so I took your advice and ran the Alsa upgrade script and got this error message in the log

    Code:
    checking for ALSA... configure: error: Package requirements (alsa >= 1.0.11) were not met:
    
    No package 'alsa' found
    
    Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
    installed software in a non-standard prefix.
    
    Alternatively, you may set the environment variables ALSA_CFLAGS
    and ALSA_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
    See the pkg-config man page for more details.
    
    alsa-plugins-1.0.21 configure failed
    Any suggestions as to what I need to do next?

  6. #6
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    You may just be missing packages.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install alsa-utils alsa-base alsa-tools

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    52
    alsa-utils and alsa-base were already installed so it installed alsa-tools and I tried the upgrade again and got the same error.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •