Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi In a kde terminal, apt-get was installing gem when it asked me to restart the kmn daemon (i'm not sure about the "kmn"...) and i hit "yes" when the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3

    [SOLVED] kde doesn't start after apt-get install


    Hi

    In a kde terminal, apt-get was installing gem when it asked me to restart the kmn daemon (i'm not sure about the "kmn"...) and i hit "yes" when the gui dissapeared and fell back to tty1. I waited a while and then restarted the system but kde didn't start automatically (it used to be so). I tried "startx" and "startkde" but they are unknown.
    I don't know linux this deep so i don't know what to check or how to trace down this problem.
    Any help is appreciated!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Which command did you execute exactly? Does now machine boot up in command line mode only?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,039
    Not sure where you went wrong. When installing KDE. You should have been asked which login manager to use and if you were using gnome the choices should have been
    KDM
    GDM
    KDM is the login manager for KDE Desktop and should be the choice chosen for KDE.

    Reference below Link for fixing a broken debian system using apt.

    Chapter*2.*Debian package management
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    877
    Things like that happen when a partition gets full. I'd run df.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Does restarting kdm get you back to a GUI?

    Code:
    su -
    /etc/init.d/kdm restart
    You can also try reconfiguring kdm which should allow you to select your login manager as roky mentioned.
    Code:
    su -
    dpkg-reconfigure kdm

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks for all the replies.

    "apt-get install gem" was running in a KDE terminal window when all this happened. I was able to boot in command line so i tried to fix the broken install and then installed xorg and then kdm with apt-get.

    Now the gui login manager starts but after logging in the screen stays blank and nothing happens though i got the cursor.

    Is something wrong with KDE now?
    How can i diagnose what packages went wrong during that install?

    p.s.
    The partition has enough free space.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    You said you tried to fix the broken install. What did you try? Any error messages?

    I would try reinstalling kde and removing all the old kde configuration files from your home directory.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,039
    Now the gui login manager starts but after logging in the screen stays blank and nothing happens though i got the cursor.
    Do what reed 9 says. Do you still have Gnome Desktop installed? If so. You should be able to select from sessions button in KDM login manager Gnome and boot into a Gnome Desktop so you have a graphical interface. Sounds Like KDE is all that is broken.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    When i tred to fix i ran dpkg --configure -a and then installed it again.

    Now, as you told me, i reinstalled KDE (i was afraid because i thought i couldn't install it with a package manager - but i could ) and it's working well.

    Thanks for all the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •