3 4.76%
  • Mepis

12 19.05%
  • Knoppix

18 28.57%
  • Ubuntu

25 39.68%
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Poll. I'm a newbie and want the most suited distro for me. I'm using a Celeron 634mhz 256mbsdram 20gb for Linux , and after I learn it well enough I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Which of these Debian Based Distros ?

Poll.

I'm a newbie and want the most suited distro for me.
    I'm using a Celeron 634mhz 256mbsdram 20gb for Linux , and after I learn it well enough I can install Linux dual-boot or maybe full-time on my Laptop Amd Athlon XP-M 2800+ 768mb ddr 30gb which is using XP home sp2 at the moment. I'm not a newbie in windows, I have 4yrs + using ME/XP.

So yea I've used a few and couldnt install a few (cds errors or something). I've used CollegeLinux, Suse 9.1, Suse 9.2 Gnome/KDE LiveCd, MandrakeMove, Slax, Knoppix LiveCd 3.6 / installed it on hd too, SimplyMepis 2004.04 / installed it on hd also, Ubuntu, Libranet 2.8.1, LormaLinux, and Xandros. Now I tried to install Slackware 10.0, Mdrake 10.0 and 10.1 but no sucess, also UserLinux and Vector, and a few others not very heard of. Well anyways heres my chosen that I liked and have used.

1) Yoper
    2) Libranet
    3) Slax (by any chance can you install slack from the livecd) ?
    4) Knoppix
    5) SimplyMepis
    6) Ubuntu

Please don't vote according to your likes, but according to whats best for a linux n00b. I'm not a console lover, but I'm not scared of it I used Libranet and did a lot of apt-get. I love apt-get, its so easier than rpm stuff and other distros (useless ones). I'm a homeuser, 2 computers, connected to my dsl/router, I do a lot of chatting, surfing, emails, music, burning, downloads, reading, and stuff like that a home user would do =)