Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I'm using Kurumin 4Alpha2 (a Brazilian flavor of Knoppix) with Kde 3.3.0. I made the necessary changes in Kde to have my keyboard light on at startup. It does. But ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
    Posts
    5

    Keyboard NumLock is always off at startup


    I'm using Kurumin 4Alpha2 (a Brazilian flavor of Knoppix) with Kde 3.3.0.

    I made the necessary changes in Kde to have my keyboard light on at startup. It does. But it only works on graphical mode. At text mode it stays off and I have to remember to turn it on (guess if I remember?).

    Is there any way I can have it on at boot time??

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    you have to enable it in your startup scripts... (i know how to do it in gentoo, but not debian...)
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    254
    Quote Originally Posted by lordnothing
    you have to enable it in your startup scripts... (i know how to do it in gentoo, but not debian...)
    Give the script I'm not an a linux box here
    Personally I had that script in my /etc/bashrc and it works

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
    Posts
    5
    lordnothing:

    Tell us how you do it in your distro. We may be interested to learn it.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
    Posts
    5
    Gnux:

    Please don't forget. When you have the opportunity, give us a hint about the script you have in your machine. It may be good for my distro too.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    Code:
    rc-update add numlock default
    that adds the 'numlock' script to the default runlevel in Gentoo.
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  7. #7
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    To get your numlock on when you startx, install this and add "numlockx" to your ~/.xinitrc:

    http://dforce.sh.cvut.cz/~seli/en/numlockx
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  8. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    254
    Quote Originally Posted by jborges
    Gnux:

    Please don't forget. When you have the opportunity, give us a hint about the script you have in your machine. It may be good for my distro too.
    Yes I will give that to u this we coz I will have my debian box (here I can't do any ssh)
    I made a mistake sorry
    I think I put this little script in /etc/profile

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    165
    Place this in in your /etc/rc.d/rc.local to activate Numlock for the first six terminals:

    Code:
    echo "Activating Numlock ..."
    for i in 1 2 3 4 5 6; do
    /usr/bin/setleds +num < /dev/tty$&#123;i&#125; > /dev/null
    done
    check man setleds

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
    Posts
    5
    I'll try right now.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •