Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Wow. Where do I start. First of all I am basically a newbie. I have used linux quite a lot but the command line is still quite foreign to me. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Blank screen after an apparent update to 6.0

Wow. Where do I start. First of all I am basically a newbie. I have used linux quite a lot but the command line is still quite foreign to me. Let's say I am a 2 with 10 being a complete newbie and 1 being an expert. Anyways I have an extra Celeron pc with only 512 mb of ram and since we have a need for another pc I decided to give debian a whirl since it is known for having a rather light footprint.

Anyways this pc is not near the router so I was planning to use wireless. It doesn't have a dvd player so I downloaded cd1 and did the install. It didn't recognize my wlan card but the drivers were easy to find. This after I manually downloaded synaptic from another pc, and then used dpkg to install it. Hey well I guess that means I was using the command line lol. Anyways it seems that none of my sources or at least most of them were missing because everytime I would go to install a package (I was trying to get video and audio codecs for my wife), it would tell that there were dependencies that it couldn't download. I was searching and searching for good sources for my new synaptic so I could get the codecs working and basically I took from here and there basically adding lots of sources. Finally it seemed that when I would use synaptic, it would find all of the dependencies. I fixed it or so I thought. Basically, after downloading lot's of different codecs and my movies (for my wife mind you) still had no sound, I gave up and decided to try vlc since that always seems to fix my codec problems in Windows.