Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
First off. Hello my names Greg and I'm new to these particular Linux Forums. Now that that's out of the way: I've tried quite a few different Linux's and found ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help choosing a Linux (specific)

First off. Hello my names Greg and I'm new to these particular Linux Forums. Now that that's out of the way:

I've tried quite a few different Linux's and found that I like Debian branches the most (hence the reason I'm posting in the Debian thread). I use a Dual Boot machine currently with Win7 and Ubuntu 9.10 though I've not really used that Ubuntu but rather have been using a VirtualBox version. Before I getting any flames I'll state flat out that I am a 'Windows Slave' because only Windows can guarantee compatibility with not only the software I need/want to use but also the guarantee that while dealing with things like NTFS drives I won't run across a catastrophic failure (Linux's NTFS driver last I checked doesn't properly supports Compression or Encryption).

So, since I have a virtual Ubuntu doing most everything I want from within Windows I plan on removing my hard copy (I also plan on reformatting my computer soon so I can do both in one fell swoop). However since a virtual copy can't work outside of Windows nor go anywhere easily (yeah I could move it to another drive and create new VM but, that's to much trouble) I'd like to get a USB Linux. I've experimented with Puppy for a little while and I like it but, Puppy is too limited. I want to have the full power of a Debian Desktop (The ability to run just about anything found in an Ubuntu repository and compile just about anything there is for Linux). I also want the flash saving ability to load data into RAM like Puppy does. Also, I like the gnome desktop the best. So, a summery of what I'm hoping to find:

Debian Style Linux

Runs on USB