Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I upgraded to Squeeze a couple days ago, and it updated my linux-image package to 2.6.32-5-686. When I boot up into this, the video output changes from analog to digital, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    29

    Question linux-image-2.6.32 video issues


    I upgraded to Squeeze a couple days ago, and it updated my linux-image package to 2.6.32-5-686. When I boot up into this, the video output changes from analog to digital, which my computer doesn't have, is there a way to change it to output to analog?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    29
    Thought I would upload my xorg.conf file, maybe it will help
    Code:
    # nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
    # nvidia-xconfig:  version 260.19.36  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-06.nvidia.com)  Tue Jan 18 17:31:39 PST 2011
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load           "dbe"
        Load           "extmod"
        Load           "type1"
        Load           "freetype"
        Load           "glx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "ProView/EMC/PTS"
        HorizSync       30.0 - 70.0
        VertRefresh     50.0 - 160.0
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce 6150 LE"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
        Option         "metamodes" "1024x768 +0+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    29
    any suggestions at all?

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    218
    the video output changes from analog to digital...
    Its been a few years since I used Nvidia on an old computer, but I remember upgrading from a CRT to a flat panel screen; both screens worked with the same xorg settings. The problem might be with the cable... is it VGA on both ends?

    Something else: xorg is configured for multiple screens (Xinerama and TwinView) when it looks like only one screen is being used... ?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Have you tried to boot up earlier image again? Does it work fine with earlier version now?
    In case it does work fine with earlier version, it must be Graphics Card driver problem with new version.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    29
    thanks for the responses, right now I work off an earlier image, I've tried updgrading the graphics card driver, was the first thing I tried. The cable I'm using is a vga on 1 end, the other goes into the monitor. Its a older crt monitor.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    right now I work off an earlier image
    Graphics Driver installed for new image doesn't work fine with earlier version.
    Does display of old CRT Monitor work fine with earlier image? In that case, you haven't re-installed Driver correctly.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •