Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
issue #1 somehow in the process of trying to get wireless connection, gdm on start-up now fails. i'm stuck in commandline and i have to manually specify startx everytime. how ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    125

    gnome issues


    issue #1

    somehow in the process of trying to get wireless connection, gdm on start-up now fails. i'm stuck in commandline and i have to manually specify startx everytime.

    how to i restore debian back to default starting up in gdm?

    ---

    issue #2

    i've lost my shutdown button, it just disappeared!

    how do i restore it?

  2. #2
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Try entering the commands below as root,
    Code:
    update-rc.d -f gdm defaults
    I think the shutdown button only appears if you have logged in using a login manager, so it should return once you fix the gdm issue.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by daark.child View Post
    Try entering the commands below as root,
    Code:
    update-rc.d -f gdm defaults
    I think the shutdown button only appears if you have logged in using a login manager, so it should return once you fix the gdm issue.
    Doesn't seem to work... It gives:

    Code:
    root@debian-peter:/home/peter# update-rc.d -f gdm defaults
    update-rc.d: using dependency based boot sequencing
    update-rc.d: error: unable to read /etc/init.d/gdm
    What does this mean?

  4. #4
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    I'm not sure why update-rc.d would not be able to read /etc/init.d/gdm. Try reinstalling gdm using apt and then run the commands I posted above and see if that makes any difference.

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by daark.child View Post
    I'm not sure why update-rc.d would not be able to read /etc/init.d/gdm. Try reinstalling gdm using apt and then run the commands I posted above and see if that makes any difference.
    I don't think so, i uninstalled and reinstalled GDM3 via Synaptic with the same result:

    Code:
    root@debian-peter:/home/peter# update-rc.d -f gdm defaults
    update-rc.d: using dependency based boot sequencing
    update-rc.d: error: unable to read /etc/init.d/gdm

  6. #6
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Is /etc/init.d/gdm present on the system? If not try uninstalling gdm with the purge option and reinstalling it e.g.
    Code:
    apt-get --purge remove gdm
    apt-get install gdm
    update-rc.d -f gdm defaults

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by daark.child View Post
    Is /etc/init.d/gdm present on the system? If not try uninstalling gdm with the purge option and reinstalling it e.g.
    Code:
    apt-get --purge remove gdm
    apt-get install gdm
    update-rc.d -f gdm defaults
    /etc/init.d/gdm3 is present. Is that what you mean?

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by daark.child View Post
    Is /etc/init.d/gdm present on the system? If not try uninstalling gdm with the purge option and reinstalling it e.g.
    Code:
    apt-get --purge remove gdm
    apt-get install gdm
    update-rc.d -f gdm defaults
    i repeated your original instructions with gdm3. whilst the error has gone away, i don't think the resulting changes did anything.

    Code:
    root@debian-peter:/home/peter# update-rc.d -f gdm3 defaults
    update-rc.d: using dependency based boot sequencing
    there is some error encountered during the boot stage, something to do with "invalid table". do u know a way i can copy a record of the boot's logs/activities so i can paste it here to show you?

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by lindsey View Post
    i repeated your original instructions with gdm3. whilst the error has gone away, i don't think the resulting changes did anything.

    Code:
    root@debian-peter:/home/peter# update-rc.d -f gdm3 defaults
    update-rc.d: using dependency based boot sequencing
    there is some error encountered during the boot stage, something to do with "invalid table". do u know a way i can copy a record of the boot's logs/activities so i can paste it here to show you?
    I checked /var/log/boot - and it doesn't contain the error i saw at startup. the error may not even be relevant, but its timing occurs around the time when gdm normally is entered into. if you feel i should pursue this further, please suggest how to go about next.

    Let me rearticulate the problem to refocus our efforts:
    The bottom line: gdm3 is listed as the choice of display manager. i have not personally changed any settings and before it was automatically loading the gdm login manager fine at start up. now it starts up in command line. what could be wrong?

    this first happened when i disconnected all my peripherals and reconnected with another monitor in another room. suddenly its booting behaviour changed and it no longer boots into gdm3. help!

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    73
    Is it giving you display mode options?

    It might be defaulting to a safe display mode due to the monitor change.
    Linux can be finicky. Even Debian.
    As a long shot you could try plugging the old monitor back in.

    Or install KDE using apt. If you don't like it just install gnome and use GDM instead of KDM as the default.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •