Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
hi anyway im still very much new to the world of linux, im running debian with gnome and i have apache and mysql running and ftp, took me awhile to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    14

    eth0 problem


    hi anyway im still very much new to the world of linux, im running debian with gnome and i have apache and mysql running and ftp, took me awhile to get everything running as half the stuff i still dont know about but every so often my eth0 crashes and the only way i can get it to work again, is if i reboot my system. any information you need i can get it just tell me what to type or point me out so good places about eth0

    thanks pickles

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    it would help if you told us what kind of card it was.
    and also, have you tried typing into a terminal:
    Code:
    su -
    ifconfig eth0 up
    -lakerdonald

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    14
    nothing happens when i type it in, jjust tryed it, i have a linksys 10/100 nic card

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    254
    Quote Originally Posted by pickles
    nothing happens when i type it in, jjust tryed it, i have a linksys 10/100 nic card
    Could u just give us en extract of ur /var/log/messages.
    That is to say: u type ifconfig eth0 then when it crashes u type:
    Code:
    tail -f /var/log/messages
    and u post that here so that we could see some errors messages

    An other thing: check that the module for ur nic is loaded (look at dmesg first to see if u card is detected).
    Quote Originally Posted by http://www.linksys.com/support/support.asp?spid=25
    Linksys network cards use a driver called Tulip, which is stored in a file called tulip.c
    Have u compiled this module?If not of course ur nic will never works
    PS:what is ur kernel?

  5. #5
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    when you say that nothing happened, do you mean that it returned without output? cos if so then it completed successfully.
    now type:
    Code:
    ifconfig
    to see if you have an IP address, and if you don't, then:
    Code:
    dhclient eth0
    -lakerdonald

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Gnux
    Code:
    tail -f /var/log/messages
    and u post that here so that we could see some errors messages

    Have u compiled this module?If not of course ur nic will never works
    PS:what is ur kernel?
    SubMatrix:~# tail -f /var/log/messages
    Nov 30 09:48:17 localhost -- MARK --
    Nov 30 10:08:17 localhost -- MARK --
    Nov 30 10:28:17 localhost -- MARK --
    Nov 30 10:48:17 localhost -- MARK --
    Nov 30 11:08:17 localhost -- MARK --
    Nov 30 11:28:17 localhost -- MARK --
    Nov 30 11:48:17 localhost -- MARK --
    Nov 30 12:08:17 localhost -- MARK --
    Nov 30 12:28:17 localhost -- MARK --
    Nov 30 12:48:17 localhost -- MARK --
    i dont know what my kernal is

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by lakerdonald
    when you say that nothing happened, do you mean that it returned without output? cos if so then it completed successfully.
    now type:
    Code:
    ifconfig
    Code:
    SubMatrix:~# ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0C:41:1D:DB:F8
              inet addr:192.168.1.103  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:303298 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:308607 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:208631214 (198.9 MiB)  TX bytes:253235077 (241.5 MiB)
              Interrupt:9 Base address:0xf800
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:94 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:94 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:6116 (5.9 KiB)  TX bytes:6116 (5.9 KiB)
    
    SubMatrix:~#
    Quote Originally Posted by lakerdonald
    to see if you have an IP address, and if you don't, then:
    Code:
    dhclient eth0
    -lakerdonald
    Code:
    SubMatrix:~# dhclient eth0
    Internet Software Consortium DHCP Client 2.0pl5
    Copyright 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999 The Internet Software Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    
    Please contribute if you find this software useful.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/dhcp-contrib.html
    
    Listening on LPF/eth0/00:0c:41:1d:db:f8
    Sending on   LPF/eth0/00:0c:41:1d:db:f8
    Sending on   Socket/fallback/fallback-net
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 14
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 14
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database.
    
    Sleeping.
    
    SubMatrix:~#

  8. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    doh
    you already had an ip address before running dhclient
    now try pinging google.com
    -lakerdonald

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    14
    SubMatrix:~# ping google.com
    PING google.com (216.239.37.99) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 216.239.37.99: icmp_seq=1 ttl=241 time=19.5 ms
    64 bytes from 216.239.37.99: icmp_seq=2 ttl=241 time=19.7 ms
    64 bytes from 216.239.37.99: icmp_seq=3 ttl=241 time=19.8 ms
    64 bytes from 216.239.37.99: icmp_seq=4 ttl=241 time=21.8 ms
    64 bytes from 216.239.37.99: icmp_seq=5 ttl=241 time=20.8 ms
    64 bytes from 216.239.37.99: icmp_seq=6 ttl=241 time=30.1 ms
    64 bytes from 216.239.37.99: icmp_seq=7 ttl=241 time=21.0 ms

  10. #10
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    hey,
    you're connected!!!
    yay
    -lakerdonald

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •