Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
hey ppl im just new to debian but have used other distros of linux after i have installed evrything etc i get the log in screen and then i log ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947

    no display??????????


    hey ppl im just new to debian but have used other distros of linux
    after i have installed evrything etc i get the log in screen and then i log in then try to sartx and thescreen flashes then returns to the command line with (EE) No display
    whats this mean i think my video card drivers are ok but maybe not the moniter b'coz i had probs with that on suse 9.1
    any help would do
    i tryed access the .log and said i didnt have the correct permissions
    i looked in as root and still didnt have them :s
    thanks i know its very breif but its coz im at school and not with the shell

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Could you post the exact error? Was it "no displays found" or "Displays found but none have usable configuration"? Details, details...
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    no display found yet again ill try and get details when i am home is there any way to page up when you are only in command line?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    I dont know if you can redirect a command line to an input like ">>" to write the log to a file... anyway, It could be an easy XF86Config edit t ofix your problem. get back to us asap with more info
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  6. #5
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by the_guy_dressed_in_black
    no display found yet again ill try and get details when i am home is there any way to page up when you are only in command line?
    "No displays found" usually means your "Display" section of your XF86Config isn't properly configured. I still need more information, though.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #6
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Can you post the display section of your /etc/X11/XF86Config (or xorg.conf) in code brackets please?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  8. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    hey thanks for the turn out i have now changed to ubuntu linux just to try it as i got the disks on monday. i will switch back to debian in about a month and have another try i have now downloaded the newer version of it 3.0r3 so im guessing it is built on a newer kernel and will support evrything a wee bit better

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •