Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hello, right now I'm having issues with my wired connection. Wifi works fine and can connect with other devices, but when I try to visit webpages on my PC(Wired)the connection ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Internet connectivity issues


    Hello, right now I'm having issues with my wired connection. Wifi works fine and can connect with other devices, but when I try to visit webpages on my PC(Wired)the connection hangs and times out after a while.

    Here's some information

    Code:
    sudo ifconfig
    
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:24:21:9c:31:85  
              inet addr:192.168.1.100  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:42404766 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:59664182 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:6242710922 (5.8 GiB)  TX bytes:70465729211 (65.6 GiB)
              Interrupt:31 Base address:0xa000 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:25844 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:25844 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:1682026 (1.6 MiB)  TX bytes:1682026 (1.6 MiB)
    
    
    sudo route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
    default         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
    
    
    
    ping 192.168.1.1
    PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From 192.168.1.100 icmp_seq=13 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.100 icmp_seq=14 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.100 icmp_seq=16 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.100 icmp_seq=17 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.100 icmp_seq=18 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.100 icmp_seq=19 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.100 icmp_seq=20 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.100 icmp_seq=22 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.100 icmp_seq=23 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.100 icmp_seq=25 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.100 icmp_seq=26 Destination Host Unreachable
    ^C
    --- 192.168.1.1 ping statistics ---
    28 packets transmitted, 0 received, +11 errors, 100% packet loss, time 27086ms
    pipe 3
    
    
    nslookup google.com
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
    
    /etc/resolv.conf
    
    domain hsdl.fl.comcast.net
    search hsdl.fl.comcast.net
    nameserver 75.75.75.75
    nameserver 75.75.76.76

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Hello and Welcome!

    Since you are having trouble pinging your router, have you tried either
    1. Switching Ethernet ports on the router
    2. Trying a different Cat-5 cable
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    Hello and Welcome!

    Since you are having trouble pinging your router, have you tried either
    1. Switching Ethernet ports on the router
    2. Trying a different Cat-5 cable
    Right now I only have 2 cat5 cables so I was hoping this wasn't the problem... But yes, I think you're right. As soon as I switched the second cat5 around The wifi cut off. I'll buy another cat5 cable and report in the results.

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3
    Alright now I can ping my router and enter it from my computer, and I can ping other places. But for some reason I'm still having the same problem, when I try to load a page it hangs and times out.

    Any suggestions? Thank you.

    (CORRECTION)

    It was the browser, all I had to do was restart it. Thanks again.
    Last edited by kakkou; 03-11-2012 at 12:11 AM. Reason: Update

  5. #5
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by kakkou View Post
    (CORRECTION)

    It was the browser, all I had to do was restart it. Thanks again.
    LOL!
    The simple answers are always the headbangers!

    Very happy that the solution was that simple for you.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •