Find the answer to your Linux question:
how can I turn on the logging with pure-ftpd to log when a file is deleted? it currently only logs put and get. i had someone delete a bunch of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question pure-ftp doesn't log when files deleted

how can I turn on the logging with pure-ftpd to log when a file is deleted? it currently only logs put and get. i had someone delete a bunch of files and i now can't figure out who because pure-ftpd is not logging this.

i am a beginner with linux and i can't find anywhere any information on how do this.

Just Joined!
    Unfortunately this is a common problem with pure-ftp. While many ftp clients such as filezilla have this feature activated by default, you must enable it manually in pure. I personally do not know the process,but have you checked the documentation pages on the pure-ftpd website? They may have instructions. However, my personal reccomendation is switch to filezilla which enables these loggin features by default.
    The other option if the files were deleted from a web server (if you have access) is to check there. Most web servers log this information automatically.

Just Joined!
    I'm not familiar with any ftp client software called pure-ftpd, but i am referring to the linux ftp server product. Also, filezilla is a windows only ftp software and this is a linux debian forum.

I am trying to find information on how to get the linux ftp server product pure-ftpd to log when files get deleted and it is running on a linux debian server.

Thanks.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!

Clarification

Quote Originally Posted by korazy View Post
    I'm not familiar with any ftp client software called pure-ftpd, but i am referring to the linux ftp server product. Also, filezilla is a windows only ftp software and this is a linux debian forum.