Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36
Originally Posted by JLloyd137 This dosnt make sense since it works fine in mint so its not hard ware. My machien is dualbooted: mint 12 and debian. Bin running mint ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    79

    Quote Originally Posted by JLloyd137 View Post
    This dosnt make sense since it works fine in mint so its not hard ware. My machien is dualbooted: mint 12 and debian. Bin running mint for awhile but like this more. Just xant get internet working.
    Unless I have missed something in this post, you have a Ralink RT2760 wireless adaptor. You might need to install the firmware-ralink package from the Debian non-free repository as this contains firmware for that wireless card.

  2. #22
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Halifax Nova Scotia Canada
    Posts
    72
    The card is actully a rosewill rnx300

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    79
    Quote Originally Posted by JLloyd137 View Post
    The card is actully a rosewill rnx300
    Maybe but is detected as this,

    Code:
    03:05.0 Network controller [0280]: RaLink RT2760 Wireless 802.11n 1T/2R Cardbus [1814:0701]
    	Subsystem: RaLink RT2760 Wireless 802.11n 1T/2R Cardbus [1814:0701]
    	Kernel driver in use: rt2860

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Halifax Nova Scotia Canada
    Posts
    72
    And how do i fix that?

  6. #25
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,674
    Quote Originally Posted by JLloyd137 View Post
    And how do i fix that?
    See this post for a how to...

    Remember that brands and chipsets are different things
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  7. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Halifax Nova Scotia Canada
    Posts
    72
    That just links to this page. Why would a get the firmware from the repo? I have the kernal mod from the maker I just need to know how to install a Kernal mod in the .tar.bz2 format.
    Last edited by JLloyd137; 06-28-2012 at 11:07 PM.

  8. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Halifax Nova Scotia Canada
    Posts
    72
    I want as little non-foss software as possable.

    Also if your wondering where ive been for the last few months, ive had alot going on so i temperairly shelved this and run of mint (which this is dual booted with) Now im back

  9. #28
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    917
    Quote Originally Posted by JLloyd137 View Post
    I want as little non-foss software as possable.

    Also if your wondering where ive been for the last few months, ive had alot going on so i temperairly shelved this and run of mint (which this is dual booted with) Now im back
    It's likely working on Mint because Mint includes a lot of non-free open source software.

  10. #29
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Halifax Nova Scotia Canada
    Posts
    72
    ok so i've untared it down to just a folder which has a ton of files which I have no idea how to install. can anyone help me? or give detailed instructions on enableing the non-free repo. I looked online but didn't see much.

  11. #30
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,049
    Try here

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •