Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4
Results 31 to 36 of 36
so theres repo-main and under that I would put- Code: deb http://ftp.ca.deian.org/debian squeeze-updates contrib non-free do I have to add the ftp one as well? after this what would I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #31
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Halifax Nova Scotia Canada
    Posts
    72

    so theres repo-main and under that I would put-

    Code:
     deb http://ftp.ca.deian.org/debian squeeze-updates contrib non-free
    do I have to add the ftp one as well? after this what would I do to add the module of my nic?

  2. #32
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,042
    add the repostory, then do aptitude update (or equivalent with synaptic or apt-get). After that the non-free packages will be available and you can install packages. Example install firmware-ralink suggested in a post #21 above ...
    aptitude install firmware-ralink

  3. #33
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    After that, just do an update.
    Not a Debian user here, but it should be:
    Code:
    su -
    <enter root password>
    apt-get update
    OR
    Code:
    su -
    <enter root password>
    aptitude update
    then:
    Code:
    aptitude install firmware-ralink
    OR
    Code:
    apt-get install install firmware-ralink
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  4. #34
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Halifax Nova Scotia Canada
    Posts
    72
    ok, so the syntax I listed above is correct thou? and do I have to add the ftp one or is the http one good alone? (not really I networking guy so I wouldn't know)

  5. #35
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    After so many folks giving their comments...
    Are you still just trying to get internet updates?

    If so... give the above commands a shot.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #36
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,498
    Quote Originally Posted by JLloyd137 View Post
    ok, so the syntax I listed above is correct thou? and do I have to add the ftp one or is the http one good alone? (not really I networking guy so I wouldn't know)
    You only need the one. They just use different protocols to get the same stuff.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •