Find the answer to your Linux question:
I recently received a Raspberry Pi (which is booting under the Raspbian Wheezy OS), and have been trying to install an Edimax EW-7811-Un wireless adapter on it, since this came ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing Edimax EW-7811Un on Raspberry Pi

I recently received a Raspberry Pi (which is booting under the Raspbian Wheezy OS), and have been trying to install an Edimax EW-7811-Un wireless adapter on it, since this came highly recommended for compatibility with the hardware. I've followed the guide here: elinux.org/RPi_edimax_EW-7811Un, to no avail - the blue light on the adapter does not come on. I've also tried running the script here: www [DOT] raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=6256 which also fails - it incorrectly claims that my network's SSID is not being broadcast.

I'm very new to Linux, so don't know how best to troubleshoot this. I would save the output of dmesg, but have no way to post this - if I unplug the wireless adapter (to plug in a USB stick), then the terminal displays error messages and then becomes unresponsive, and unplugging the keyboard is clearly unhelpful. I've tried saving log files to my SD card and reading that on an internet-connected computer, but the card is unrecognisable on my laptop.

If there are any common error messages that you could tell me about, I could look out for them in my dmesg output - otherwise, I'd appreciate advice on how to post the log files to aid debugging, or possible mistakes I might have made in installing the Edimax.

(Apologies that the URLs are not formatted correctly - apparently, I only gain that privilege after 15 posts)