Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys. I'm mostly new to this world but I know some things...I'm not a bubblehead. I am 16 years old and I have been using Gnu/Linux for about 3 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wich branch should I install

Hi guys.

I'm mostly new to this world but I know some things...I'm not a bubblehead. I am 16 years old and I have been using Gnu/Linux for about 3 months, swithching distros...

Is time to stop. I can't keep swithching distros forever.

I am planing on learning coding/programming, starting with Python. I have been using Ubuntu for a while but I think I need something more...SERIOUS? using an easy-to-use distro makes me feel like a baby. Bah!

I have been thinking on swithching to the father of so many distros around here, Debian, because it is serious enought for a programmer.. But I don't know wich branch should I download. Stable, Unstable, Testing?

I've not used Debian proper, but if I ever install it I'll probably settle on Testing.
    It stays just a touch behind the cutting edge, but is still quite up-to-date for most available software.
    If you are going to be worried about true stability, Stable might be more to your liking.

You could always start with Stable, and if you don't to work with slightly dated software selections, switch to the Testing or Unstable branches.
    Last edited by jayd512; 09-29-2012 at 02:45 AM. Reason: typo
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

You won't find much difference in Ubuntu and Debian. Ubuntu is as stable as Debian.
    If you want to control, configure everything yourself check Arch or Crux Linux and few others in the same league. I won't recommend Gentoo because it will be too much for you.