Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
Originally Posted by Joaogl first Shift+I just prints out I Press Shift + I while top is running...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,309

    Quote Originally Posted by Joaogl View Post
    first Shift+I just prints out I
    Press Shift + I while top is running
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    115
    Ok lets see.. Im only 15 years old so i never learned nothing about linux so sometimes this gets a bit confusing lets see...

    Quad-Core i think its a CPU with 4 vCores and that yes i have.
    Irix mode off no I didnt understood yet do to do it and if i have to do it to the minecraft our what..
    cpulimit on minecraft not yet, e didnt understood how to use it.
    and the last one the command cat /proc/cpuinfo |grep ^processor return:
    processor : 0
    processor : 1
    processor : 2
    processor : 3

  3. #13
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,307
    Quote Originally Posted by Joaogl View Post
    Quad-Core i think its a CPU with 4 vCores and that yes i have.
    Not necessarily. It could be a Dual-Core, Hyperthreaded CPU. For example, run this more informative command to interrogate the CPU:

    Code:
    cat /proc/cpuinfo |egrep ^'processor|cpu cores|core id'|sed -e 's|^processor|\nprocessor|'
    On one of my machines, that returns:
    Code:
    processor       : 0
    core id         : 0
    cpu cores       : 2
    
    processor       : 1
    core id         : 1
    cpu cores       : 2
    
    processor       : 2
    core id         : 0
    cpu cores       : 2
    
    processor       : 3
    core id         : 1
    cpu cores       : 2
    From that, you can see that I have two physical core ids, and each has two cores: Dual-Core w/Hyperthreading.

    Irix mode off no I didnt understood yet do to do it and if i have to do it to the minecraft our what..
    Have you managed that yet? I think we have been fairly clear on what to try.

    cpulimit on minecraft not yet, e didnt understood how to use it.
    To run it, just get the pid of your minecraft process, then pass that pid to cpulimit, e.g. write a script that looks like this and run it (you may need to change the name of the process and can set the limit to whatever is permitted by cpulimit):

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    process=minecraft
    usage=40
    pid=$(pidof -x $process)
    [ -z "$pid" ] && echo "can't find pid of $process" && exit 1
    cpulimit --pid $pid --limit $usage
    that will limit the process "minecraft" to 40% cpu utilization, at least in user-space.

  4. #14
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    115
    Ok lets see, the command return was:

    Code:
    processor       : 0
    core id         : 0
    cpu cores       : 4
    
    processor       : 1
    core id         : 1
    cpu cores       : 4
    
    processor       : 2
    core id         : 2
    cpu cores       : 4
    
    processor       : 3
    core id         : 3
    cpu cores       : 4

    now, I didnt managed Irix mode yet becouse Im affright that could do something to my server that I dont want to..


    Now the last one, the server is using more than 100% and that is causing lag on the server but if limit that do 40% that could cause even more lag no?
    Last edited by atreyu; 11-08-2012 at 12:47 AM. Reason: added code tags for readability

  5. #15
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,309
    Quote Originally Posted by Joaogl View Post
    now, I didnt managed Irix mode yet becouse Im affright that could do something to my server that I dont want to..


    Now the last one, the server is using more than 100% and that is causing lag on the server but if limit that do 40% that could cause even more lag no?
    No. The server is using more than one full CPU.

    Irix mode on / off will only affect the top command while it is running.

    By default, top shows the CPU% as a % of a single CPU. This is known as Irix mode. So on something like a single processor System, 100% will actually be all the processor in use. On a dual processor system, it will be around about 50% and so on. When running top, pressing Shift + I changes the CPU% display from a single core to the entire processor, which is known as Solaris mode. Exiting top will reset to the default for next time.

    I have just learnt that pressing the 1 key when running top shows what each processor is doing.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  6. #16
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    115
    Let's go!

    Irix mode off(how can i turn it off on WebAdmin?)
    And on top command i turned it off and it shows that the Minecraft process uses 40% Of the CPU.

    now... If its using 40% if i use the cpulimit to 50% What difference that makes? I mean it will block the process to only use 50% is that correct?

  7. #17
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,307
    Quote Originally Posted by Joaogl View Post
    Code:
    processor       : 0
    core id         : 0
    cpu cores       : 4
    
    processor       : 1
    core id         : 1
    cpu cores       : 4
    
    processor       : 2
    core id         : 2
    cpu cores       : 4
    
    processor       : 3
    core id         : 3
    cpu cores       : 4
    Nice, Quad-core it is.

    now, I didnt managed Irix mode yet becouse Im affright that could do something to my server that I dont want to..
    I'm w/elija, you won't hurt anything by playing w/irix mode in top.

    Now the last one, the server is using more than 100% and that is causing lag on the server but if limit that do 40% that could cause even more lag no?
    Don't know, but i would guess it would cause maybe a little more lag in minecraft. Try and see!

  8. #18
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,307
    Quote Originally Posted by Joaogl View Post
    Irix mode off(how can i turn it off on WebAdmin?)
    No idea, what is WebAdmin? Does it provide a console in a web browser or something? You can use .toprc, I'll bet, like i mentioned in an earlier post.

    now... If its using 40% if i use the cpulimit to 50% What difference that makes?
    10%!
    I mean it will block the process to only use 50% is that correct?
    Well, that's how cpulimit works, as I understand it. Keep in mind what elija said about the percentage reflecting the number of CPUs (4 in your case).

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •