Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
Hi, I have a root server in debian. I have a Minecraft server that is using 5G of ram but is also using 95% of the CPU wicth was not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    117

    CPU OverLoad


    Hi,

    I have a root server in debian. I have a Minecraft server that is using 5G of ram but is also using 95% of the CPU wicth was not suppose to happen......

    My cpu: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5649 @ 2.53GHz , 4 cores

    Whate can I do?

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Hi,

    I've never tried it myself, but take a look at the cpulimit command:

    http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/cpu-usa...ter-for-linux/

    It purports to do what you want.

    In Debian:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install cpulimit
    Last edited by atreyu; 10-30-2012 at 10:23 PM. Reason: fixed URL

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    117
    I didn't test it yet I will test it today but can I give a core to a process?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,638
    Are you getting the 95% using top? If so try switching off Irix mode (press Shift + I). By default top shows the CPU% in relation to a single core, therefore in a quad you could get readings of up to 400%
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    117
    This is a root server and im using SSHD to connect so Shift + I doesnt work..

    I've installed the cpulimit. And i dont know what to do with it

  7. #6
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    From the article I linked to:

    A Note About SMP (Multicore / MultiCpu) Systems

    Again quoting from the project webpage:

    If your machine has one processor you can limit the percentage from 0% to 100%, which means that if you set for example 50%, your process cannot use more than 500 ms of cpu time for each second. But if your machine has four processors, percentage may vary from 0% to 400%, so setting the limit to 200% means to use no more than half of the available power. In any case, the percentage is the same of what you see when you run top.


    It appears that cpulimit does not need to be specific to cores, but only to applications/processes.

  8. #7
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,638
    The only root servers I've heard of are the DNS root servers so I assumed this is a server with root access. If you are connecting using ssh then you can run the command
    Code:
    top
    from the command line. It is from that screen that the shift + i will do it's thing.

    The top command.

    Of course, if I'm wrong about what the root server is then ignore everything I just said...
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  9. #8
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by Joaogl View Post
    This is a root server
    what does that mean, exactly?

    and im using SSHD to connect so Shift + I doesnt work..
    I don't see why you can't use that key combo in an ssh session (works for me), but anyway, in a local terminal (where Shift+I works), you can start top, press Shift+I, then "W" to save settings to ~/.toprc. Then copy that .toprc to your remote machine and it should start in Irix mode off.

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    117
    first Shift+I just prints out I
    and secound top info..

    PID 1539
    USER Minecraft
    PR 20
    NI 0
    VIRT 6169m
    RES 5.6g
    SHR 10m
    S S
    CPU 154
    MEM 35.5
    TIME 2962:09
    COMMAND java



    this helps?

  11. #10
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    so I guess w/Irix mode off cpu utilization is reporting 154% (vs 95% originally), is that right? so are you on a quad-core?

    Code:
     cat /proc/cpuinfo |grep ^processor
    have you tried to run cpulimit on your minecraft process yet?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •