Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Whenever i am trying to install any package with Code: apt-get install <package_name> I am getting the bellow error. HTML Code: E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    india
    Posts
    57

    problem installing new package with apt-get


    Whenever i am trying to install any package with
    Code:
    apt-get install <package_name>
    I am getting the bellow error.
    HTML Code:
    E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem.
    after pursing dpkg --configure -a the problem is unsolved.
    I have tried
    Code:
    apt-get update
    and the same is showing.

    need help.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,858
    Post sources.list I guess to elaborate more.

    Code:
    cat /etc/sources.list

    Sometimes for me. I have to do during a testing dist-upgrade to fix apt issues.

    Code:
    apt-get -f install
    To get rid of dpkg errors.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Have you tried to clean cache?
    Code:
    sudo apt-get clean all
    sudo dpkg --configure -a
    sudo apt-get update
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    india
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Have you tried to clean cache?
    Code:
    sudo apt-get clean all
    sudo dpkg --configure -a
    sudo apt-get update

    I have tried all above commands but the result is same(showing the same dpkg error)

    below is the sourcelist

    Code:
    root@v:~# vi /etc/apt/sources.list
    #deb file:///cdrom/ sarge main
    
    deb Index of /debian/ stable main contrib
    deb Index of /debian/ unstable main contrib non-free
    deb Index of /debian/ testing main contrib
    deb-src Index of /debian/ stable main contrib
    deb-src Index of /debian/ unstable main contrib
    deb-src Index of /debian/ testing main contrib
    
    deb Index of /debian-backports squeeze-backports main
    #deb Index of /debian testing main contrib non-free
    #deb-src Index of /debian testing main contrib non-free
    #deb Index of /debian unstable main contrib non-free
    #deb-src Index of /debian unstable main contrib non-free
    
    deb Debian -- Security Information stable/updates main contrib non-free
    deb Debian -- Security Information testing/updates main contrib non-free
    
    
    #deb http://mirror.peer1.net/debian-non-US/ stable/non-US main contrib non-free
    #deb-src http://mirror.peer1.net/debian-non-US/ stable/non-US main contrib non-free

  5. #5
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Although I've not run Debian, I'm thinking that you may need to uncomment the non-free repos, depending on what package you are trying to install.

    Do you get the above error even when performing an apt-get update?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    india
    Posts
    57
    yes
    Code:
    apt-get update
    is also showing the same error.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    india
    Posts
    57
    now this problem has gone.a new one comes in.whenever i am going to install any package an error message related to python is showing

    Code:
    root@voxlinenetworks:~# apt-get install samba
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    samba is already the newest version.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    1 not fully installed or removed.
    After this operation, 0 B of additional disk space will be used.
    Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
    Setting up python-setuptools (0.6.14-4) ...
    Package `python-setuptools' is not installed.
    Use dpkg --info (= dpkg-deb --info) to examine archive files,
    and dpkg --contents (= dpkg-deb --contents) to list their contents.
    E: pycompile:79: cannot get content of python-setuptools
    dpkg: error processing python-setuptools (--configure):
     subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 2
    configured to not write apport reports
                                          Errors were encountered while processing:
     python-setuptools
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

  8. #8
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,858
    Code:
    deb-src Index of /debian/ stable main contrib
    deb-src Index of /debian/ unstable main contrib
    deb-src Index of /debian/ testing main contrib
    In my view. You need to settle with stable and comment out testing and unstable repos. Running a mix of repos like that with

    Code:
    deb Index of /debian-backports squeeze-backports main
    Is just asking for trouble. No wonder you are having troubles. My sources.list is clean and simple.

    Code:
    $ inxi -r
     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list
               deb http://ftp.gr.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
               deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
    So either go with Stable,Testing,or Unstable. Mixing them up like that you are inducing troubles yourself. I am surprised you even have a working system and no one has caught this yet.


    Code:
    #deb file:///cdrom/ sarge main
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  9. #9
    Just Joined! Sector11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    With my wife.
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by rokytnji View Post
    {snip}

    So either go with Stable,Testing,or Unstable. Mixing them up like that you are inducing troubles yourself. I am surprised you even have a working system and no one has caught this yet.
    +1 on that.

    It is a mix and match situation for sure.
    But at least the "cdrom" is commented out. (now!)

    @ aaaaaarko
    Just curious but what does your /etc/apt/preferences file say?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •