Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
What is the output of ifconfig -a ?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023

    What is the output of ifconfig -a?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  2. #12
    c_k
    c_k is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    What is the output of ifconfig -a?
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 6c:62:6d:b3:07:9a  
              inet addr:192.168.0.103  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::6e62:6dff:feb3:79a/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:54 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:47 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:15215 (14.8 KiB)  TX bytes:7622 (7.4 KiB)
              Interrupt:27 Base address:0xc000 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:33 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:33 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:13509 (13.1 KiB)  TX bytes:13509 (13.1 KiB)
    
    pan0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr a2:62:40:ac:f6:32  
              BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Last edited by c_k; 11-25-2012 at 02:22 AM.

  3. #13
    c_k
    c_k is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Code:
     esg | grep firmware
    [    9.019620] r8169 0000:04:00.0: firmware: requesting rtl_nic/rtl8105e-1.fw
    [    9.266337] r8169 0000:04:00.0: eth0: unable to load firmware patch rtl_nic/rtl8105e-1.fw (-2)
    I got this on install and after i typed in msg grep firmware. Does it mean anything?

    I am assuming this means it cannot download the needed drivers?

  4. #14
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  5. #15
    c_k
    c_k is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    Should do the trick.
    Thanks so much for your help. I followed the instructions and added the line and mirror to my sources.list then installed it by apt-get install update, then apt-get install firmware-realtek. But what do I do now?

  6. #16
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Many times, the next step would be a reboot. Then see if your wireless is being detected properly.
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #17
    c_k
    c_k is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    Many times, the next step would be a reboot. Then see if your wireless is being detected properly.
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 6c:62:6d:b3:07:9a  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
              Interrupt:27 Base address:0x6000 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:90 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:90 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:21657 (21.1 KiB)  TX bytes:21657 (21.1 KiB)
    
    pan0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 7e:d7:2d:b1:9b:42  
              BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    It's not working, I am Googling but am very lost.

  8. #18
    c_k
    c_k is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Does anyone know what this means?

    Code:
    [   11.031436] r8169 0000:04:00.0: firmware: requesting rtl_nic/rtl8105e-1.fw
    I got it when typing the dmesg| grep firmware command.

  9. #19
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Oddly enough, that's concerning your NIC. But since your ethernet card is working, let's ignore that for now.
    Your wireless adapter is a USB adapter, correct? Does it have an LED indicating power, or an on/off toggle switch?
    What is the output of
    Code:
    rfkill list all
    If it's a USB adapter, does it work on other computers?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  10. #20
    c_k
    c_k is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    Oddly enough, that's concerning your NIC. But since your ethernet card is working, let's ignore that for now.
    Your wireless adapter is a USB adapter, correct? Does it have an LED indicating power, or an on/off toggle switch?
    What is the output of
    Code:
    rfkill list all
    If it's a USB adapter, does it work on other computers?
    It is USB and I am dual booting debian/windows. On windows it works debian nothin. Also I need to install rfkill so i bought a ethernet cable and it should be here in a few days so I can accsess the internet from my house.

    i'll let you know the results then! thanks.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •