Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I was trying to install Vector LInux, and it wasn't working properly, so I took a look at my Debian system to try to find what modules I needed... I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6

    Eek... I think I broke my computer


    I was trying to install Vector LInux, and it wasn't working properly, so I took a look at my Debian system to try to find what modules I needed... I must have accidentally copied some files over or something (even though I was sure I hadn't touched anything) because now when I try to boot Debian it gives me error messages like modprobe: modprobe: Can't open dependencies file /lib/modules/2.4.22/modules.dep (No such file or directory)

    It's looking for files in 2.4.22... but my kernel on that system is 2.4.26 (on the Vector system it's 2.4.22)

    I really don't know what to do, nothing works at all (I'm working from a livecd at the moment)... could someone help me?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    try this as root:
    Code:
    ln -s /lib/modules/2.4.26 /lib/modules/2.4.22
    and then reboot

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    Did you do a clean install?

    That softlink should solve the problem temporarily but really isn't a fix.

    Did you (or the OS) create multiple partitions and mount points?
    The best things in life are free.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    Did you do a clean install?

    That softlink should solve the problem temporarily but really isn't a fix.

    Did you (or the OS) create multiple partitions and mount points?
    The best things in life are free.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6
    I didn't create any more partitions when installing Vector, if that's what you mean... just installed it on one I already had

    Oh, some other stuff seems to be different when I start up too... there seem to be more things there than there were before (and they all error), it's like it's trying to do what Vector does when it starts up, but it can't...

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6
    I fixed it... it was becuase lilo was trying to boot the Debian system using Vector's kernel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •