Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello there, I seem to be having issues with Debian on a fresh install. This is my first time using an official Debian distro, I am used to Ubuntu, which ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question Fresh install cannot get default route

Hello there, I seem to be having issues with Debian on a fresh install. This is my first time using an official Debian distro, I am used to Ubuntu, which is of Debian origins, but its not quite the same.

My issue is that I am trying to install Debian, and update it to become a router, however before I get there I need to make sure everything is installed, which means I need to attach it to the net INSIDE the network. When I installed it got the IP via DHCP without issue, but did not get a default route.

Here is now our network is layed out.

We have Rapier 24i switch which has 3 networks:
    192.168.1.0/24 (DHCP provided by Windows Server 2003 at 192.168.1.5, switch is 192.168.1.2)
    192.168.2.0/24 (DHCP provided by switch)
    192.168.3.0/24 (DHCP provided by switch)

Gateway to the internet is 192.168.3.1 which is the gateway I will be replacing with the new server.

Now the port available to me at the location I need is on the 192.168.1.0/24 network. All the windows machines are able to get on the net without issue using the 192.168.3.1 gateway, however as I mentioned, Debian is not picking up the route.

I can ping any machine on the 192.168.1.0/24 network, but I cannot ping the gateway. I also unfortunately do not know the correct route commands to get it talk to the 192.168.3.1 gateway.

The windows systems show 2 gateways,
    192.168.3.1, 192.168.1.2

(in that order), how do I make Debian talk to the net (the outside world)?

Linux Guru