Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi all, My question is relatively simple (so I believe). I'm not quite sure how I can be messing this up. For the past two days I have been trying ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1

    Hard Drives are not visible during Debian installation


    Hi all,

    My question is relatively simple (so I believe). I'm not quite sure how I can be messing this up. For the past two days I have been trying to install Debian on my 64-bit Intel processor machine and have been having a lot if trouble. I am using the amd64 insallation of Debian 6.0.6 and am having this problem.

    When I get to the section in which I am to partition a hard drive for the installation if Debian only my removable media appear. I have four internal hard drives. Two of which are mirrored dynamic WD HDDs that are used in my installation if Windows8, one is an Intel SSD, and the other is a WD 500GB HDD.

    Any advice? I can post more of the error messages that appear later.

    Kaczmars

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie objuan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    california
    Posts
    234
    Hi,
    If you have a intel chip set then you should not be using the amd64 ios you need the i386.iso
    --------------------------
    Linux is the FORCE

  3. #3
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,356
    Quote Originally Posted by objuan View Post
    Hi,
    If you have a intel chip set then you should not be using the amd64 ios you need the i386.iso
    Sorry, but this statement is wrong.

    The architecture amd64 is called amd64, because the company AMD was the first to implement a 64bit extensions for x86.
    Intel then used AMDs specification in their CPUs as well.

    amd64 ISOs are usually the right choice for intel and amd 64bit CPUs.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie objuan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    california
    Posts
    234
    My apologies is stand corrected
    --------------------------
    Linux is the FORCE

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Have you tried LiveCD of any other Linux distro? Do other distros detect Hard disks?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,482
    If this is a live CD and the hard disks have been automatically mounted you may need to unmount them first by right clicking on it the file manager and selecting the appropriate option.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •