Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Hello , I've encountered a problem with my laptop lately, as I am a beginner to Gnu/Linux. I wanted to give Linux a try and Debian came to mind. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    9

    Unhappy Have I deleted my Windows while installing Debian?


    Hello, I've encountered a problem with my laptop lately, as I am a beginner to Gnu/Linux. I wanted to give Linux a try and Debian came to mind. I installed it on my laptop and then booted. To my surprise, when the Grub boot menu came up, Windows 7 was not an option. I think I've overwritten my Windows and all of its files, can anyone tell me if that's the case? Also, when I select Debian on GRUB, I get a command line. This is probably not new to you, but since I AM a Windows exclusive user, I'm used to a desktop-GUI. How do I get something like a desktop as apposed to a command-line interface? I understand that I install GNOME but I don't exactly know how. Any help?

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Hello and Welcome.
    Boot up Debian and open a terminal window, copy and paste these commands and give us the results, please. Use root or sudo, whichever your system uses.
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Welcome aboard!
    To get a GUI, try the command:
    Code:
    startx
    If that works, we can get it set to start you graphically by default.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    9
    The commands that you gave me wouldn't work, I don't believe I'm doing it correctly. When I boot, it loads things then it says Debian GNU/Linux 6.0 tty1 and the Login.

  5. #5
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by Lockhart View Post
    The commands that you gave me wouldn't work, I don't believe I'm doing it correctly. When I boot, it loads things then it says Debian GNU/Linux 6.0 tty1 and the Login.
    Hello and welcome!

    Be sure you use a lower-case letter "L" in Mike's command above, and not a number "1".

    If you haven't installed Gnome yet, you should be able to do so with apt or aptitude by gaining root permissions with su (or sudo) then entering the following command:

    Code:
    apt-get install gnome-desktop-environment
    or

    Code:
    aptitude install gnome-desktop-environment
    if that doesn't work, try:

    Code:
    apt-get install gnome

    The debian wiki should give full instructions for installing gnome but I'm unable to get the link to pull up at the moment:

    http://wiki.debian.org/Gnome
    oz

  6. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by Lockhart View Post
    The commands that you gave me wouldn't work, I don't believe I'm doing it correctly. When I boot, it loads things then it says Debian GNU/Linux 6.0 tty1 and the Login.
    At that point, enter your username. When you begin to type your password, you won't see anything show up on the screen (not even stars).
    Then you should be at a regular prompt. Now try those commands.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,969
    Guys, I would have him explain exactly how he installed Debian. Also the command is

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    plus it won't hurt to run

    Code:
    sudo blkid
    Code:
    # blkid
    /dev/sda1: LABEL="PQSERVICE" UUID="84C0247FC0247996" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda2: LABEL="SYSTEM RESERVED" UUID="9C2425202424FF40" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda3: LABEL="Acer" UUID="6AC2CA02C2C9D28D" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda5: UUID="26a54718-3581-4c8b-958a-a03d4ce2b96f" TYPE="swap" 
    /dev/sda6: LABEL="/" UUID="36c9c5bd-8611-475c-91ed-b13b8ecfe729" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sda7: LABEL="/home" UUID="55421c6b-4f54-41a2-979e-82ca2b7f2b1f" UUID_SUB="4a16b4e6-1f25-4024-9ebc-a6ff6b28c584" TYPE="btrfs"
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    9
    All of the previous commands that you gave me resulted in
    Code:
    -bash: sudo: command not found
    , with the exception of
    Code:
    apt-get install gnome-desktop-environment
    to which, my system responded:
    E: Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (13: Permission denied)
    E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), are you root?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,969
    Ok Type in

    Code:
    su
    hit enter/return key

    type in Your password next (it will be hidden) then hit return/enter key.

    Code:
    fdisk -l
    hit enter and post what terminal spits out

    Code:
    blkid
    same as with fdisk.

    Then you can try Oz's suggestions.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    9
    When I entered the fdisk -l command, i got

    insert disk information here
    /dev/sda1 * 1 76851 617304064 86 Linux
    /dev/ sda2 76852 77826 7825409 5 Extended
    Partition 2 does not start on physical sector boundary.
    /dev/sda5 76852 77826 7825408 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    That was the information I look to be relevant.
    When I entered blkid I got:
    /dev/sda1: UUID="b6ef01db-c8d3-45bc-b42e-85b0f76d9ca1" TYPE="ext3"
    /dev/sda5: UUID="b3c1c64e-3676-440e-b54c-ba12319d05c7" TYPE="swap"

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •