Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
So.. I have Proxmox VE 2.2 running on two machines... (future clusters in waiting) Promox is based on Debian 6.0. Proxmox requires an internet browser to log in, set up ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3

    Angry Proxmox ve 2.2


    So.. I have Proxmox VE 2.2 running on two machines... (future clusters in waiting) Promox is based on Debian 6.0.
    Proxmox requires an internet browser to log in, set up etc. I have tried everything I know, but I cant get a browser up and running. I cant get GNOME to work either... So this is not a Proxmox question... its Debian 6.0 question... How the heck do I fire up a browser?
    Last edited by briantulsaok; 02-25-2013 at 02:48 AM.

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Hello and welcome!

    Do you have standard Debian sources available?

    If so you can give iceweasel (Firefox, basically) a try:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install iceweasel
    then just run it from the terminal
    Code:
    iceweasel
    or find the application launcher.

    if you don't like iceweasel, try epiphany or konqueror. you can install them the same way.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install epiphany-browser konqueror
    you can launch them from a terminal also. i assume you at least have X running, btw, or are export your DISPLAY to a remote graphical desktop.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3

    Tried That Already

    Quote Originally Posted by atreyu View Post
    Hello and welcome!

    Do you have standard Debian sources available?

    If so you can give iceweasel (Firefox, basically) a try:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install iceweasel
    then just run it from the terminal
    Code:
    iceweasel
    or find the application launcher.
    So... I tried to install both iceweasel and epiphany... when I type in "sudo apt-get" i get this:
    " -bash : sudo: command not found "
    This should be part of Debian 6.0 right?
    Where is appliance launcher?
    Last edited by atreyu; 02-28-2013 at 09:54 PM. Reason: fixed quote

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by briantulsaok View Post
    So... I tried to install both iceweasel and epiphany... when I type in "sudo apt-get" i get this:
    " -bash : sudo: command not found "
    If sudo is not installed, I guess you can try and install it, but then I guess this distro is not really set up like Debian after all. Can you simply "su" to root? In a terminal, do:
    Code:
    su -
    then enter the root password.

    Or are you root already?

    In either case, assuming you are root, try the above command to install again, just leave off the sudo bit:

    Code:
    apt-get install iceweasel
    Where is appliance launcher?
    The application launcher is a graphical contrivance. If you don't have a graphical desktop, you won't have this. If you do have one, the application launcher would be a shortcut that gets added to a panel or menu somewhere on the desktop. I would not worry about this though, get it working from the terminal first.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3
    Yes... I am already "root"...
    OK... i did the "apt-get install iceweasel" command: results >
    "Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    E: unable to locate package iceweasel"

    I also tried to install sudo the same way... with same results...

  7. #6
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    If it is truly Debian underneath, and your sources haven't been fiddled with, I don't know why it would not find it. You can see (and download) the package for squeeze here. Double-check your version with any of these commands:
    Code:
    cat /etc/issue
    cat /etc/debian_version
    lsb_release -a
    You should probably take a look at your sources. The are just text files, and should be in the /etc/apt directory.

    You can try another browser, e.g.:

    Code:
    apt-get install epiphany-browser

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    7
    Do you have another computer that you can use to login to Proxmox web interface?
    Win, Linux, OSX, any with graphic interface will work as long as you have network access to your Proxmox servers.

    I wouldn't install graphic interface in your Proxmox servers (security, performance, etc). Also, to open a console from the web interface, you need java installed on the browser.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •