Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi there. I beg your pardon for my english but I'm really in need for some help because of some troubles with my network. I got a netbook with debian ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    6

    No DHCP offers for eth0 randomly


    Hi there.
    I beg your pardon for my english but I'm really in need for some help because of some troubles with my network.
    I got a netbook with debian and I have a big issue with my wired connection that I can't explain.
    When I start the computer, no problem, with NetworkManager or just a "dhclient eth0" the wired connection does well :

    dhclient eth0 -d
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client 4.1.1-P1
    Copyright 2004-2010 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit (url here)
    Listening on LPF/eth0/10:bf:48:36:a4:7b
    Sending on LPF/eth0/10:bf:48:36:a4:7b
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPREQUEST on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
    DHCPACK from 192.168.0.1
    bound to 192.168.0.10 -- renewal in 1732 seconds.
    But after a certain period of time (I would guess it's the renewal time), the
    dhcp fails to offer an issue and the message become the following :

    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client 4.1.1-P1
    Copyright 2004-2010 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit (url here)

    Listening on LPF/eth0/10:bf:48:36:a4:7b
    Sending on LPF/eth0/10:bf:48:36:a4:7b
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 11
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 2
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    And then the connection is gone and no way to get it back without doing a reboot. (reboot which solve the problem for a new period before it happens again)

    I saw that many had troubles with the DHCP offers in debian but didn't found any topic about disappearing DHCP...

    Here is my /etc/network/interfaces :

    # This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    # The primary network interface
    allow-hotplug eth0
    #NetworkManager#iface eth0 inet dhcp

    allow-hotplug wlan0
    Could you please help me to solve that ?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,168
    Post output of

    Code:
    sudo lspci -nnn -k
    So members can see what kind of hardware you are talking about. I know of a old Broadcom tg3 bug report for dropped offers.

    #645308 - tg3 broken for NetXtreme 5714S in squeeze 6.0.3 installer - Debian Bug report logs

    Also

    Code:
    uname -a
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for your attention !
    Here is the result of "sudo lspci -nnn -k" :

    sudo lspci -nnn -k
    [sudo] password for faurev:
    00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Cedarview DRAM Controller [8086:0bf2] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:84a9]
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Cedarview Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0be2] (rev 09)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:84a9]
    00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:27d8] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:8437]
    Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 1 [8086:27d0] (rev 02)
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 2 [8086:27d2] (rev 02)
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport
    00:1c.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 4 [8086:27d6] (rev 02)
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport
    00:1d.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 [8086:27c8] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:83ad]
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    00:1d.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 [8086:27c9] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:83ad]
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    00:1d.2 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 [8086:27ca] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:83ad]
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    00:1d.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller [8086:27cc] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:83ad]
    Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge [8086:2448] (rev e2)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation NM10 Family LPC Controller [8086:27bc] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:83ad]
    00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH7 Family SATA AHCI Controller [8086:27c1] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:83ad]
    Kernel driver in use: ahci
    00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family SMBus Controller [8086:27da] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:83ad]
    02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. Device [168c:0032] (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Lite-On Communications Inc Device [11ad:6627]
    03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Atheros Communications AR8152 v2.0 Fast Ethernet [1969:2062] (rev c1)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:8468]
    Kernel driver in use: atl1c
    And here the result for the uname :

    Linux debian 2.6.32-5-686 #1 SMP Mon Feb 25 01:04:36 UTC 2013 i686 GNU/Linux

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,168
    Kernel driver in use: atl1c
    Seems right.

    If me. I would try a newer kernel header and image .deb. Install with dpkg -i command. Then sudo update-grub to get the new kernel in grub bootscreen menu listing.
    Seems your kernel can be buggy with that

    Atheros Communications AR8152
    chip and that driver. Debian User Forums ? View topic - Installer does not detect ethernet card

    Kernel headers and images like 3.2 versions can be had at

    Debian -- Details of package linux-headers-3.2.0-0.bpo.4-all-i386 in squeeze-backports

    Debian -- Details of package linux-image-686 in squeeze-backports

    Edit: As a aside. You could boot a live debian current release and
    test via live usb or live cd to see if problem persists. Just a way to test before installing a newer kernel.

    Index of /cdimage/unofficial/non-free/cd-including-firmware/7.0.0-live+nonfree/i386/iso-hybrid

    These images include non free firmware which Debian does not
    include in their stock net install cd images.
    Last edited by rokytnji; 05-11-2013 at 02:13 AM.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    6
    Ok, I will try that.
    But what seems strange to me is that my computer manage to get a perfect wired connection in the beginning and lose it only after. And I had previously no problem to use eth0 in my house, couldn't it be a problem with the configuration of the router ?

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by Woute View Post
    Ok, I will try that.
    But what seems strange to me is that my computer manage to get a perfect wired connection in the beginning and lose it only after. And I had previously no problem to use eth0 in my house, couldn't it be a problem with the configuration of the router ?
    Just for grins, try switching your systems from dhcp to fixed ip addresses. I did that on my systems here at home and have never regretted it.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    6
    How do I do that ? I really considered it but I don't know if I have to change conf on my router or my computer or both. I'm not the only one to use the router and wonder how to practically use fixed ip, but I would give a try !

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by Woute View Post
    How do I do that ? I really considered it but I don't know if I have to change conf on my router or my computer or both. I'm not the only one to use the router and wonder how to practically use fixed ip, but I would give a try !
    In my router's setup, linksys, there is an option to specify a range of ip addresses that are fixed and not subject to dhcp.

    Then in my Gnome control center, under network connections, I set the pc to use a specific fixed ip address.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    6
    I'm trying to configure the static IP but I have a router and a modem. And if the router indeed provides a DHCP server, it's the modem's one that is in use.

    Here is my /etc/network/interfaces :

    # This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    # The primary network interface
    allow-hotplug eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.0.100
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.0.254
    And here the /etc/resolv.conf :

    # Generated by NetworkManager
    nameserver 192.168.0.1
    nameserver 192.168.0.2
    I can reach the cable-modem through 192.168.0.1 and the wlan-router through 192.168.0.254.
    What did I wrong ?
    When I do "ifup eth0" no problem.
    Then "ping 192.168.0.254" is also flawless.
    But when I try "ping google.de" I get that :
    PING google.de (173.194.70.94) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From 192.168.0.254 icmp_seq=2 Destination Net Unreachable
    From 192.168.0.254 icmp_seq=3 Destination Net Unreachable
    ^CFrom 192.168.0.254 icmp_seq=4 Destination Net Unreachable

    --- google.de ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 0 received, +3 errors, 100% packet loss, time 11022ms
    I don't know if I should open a new topic for this question and close this one, didn't find how to put it in [SOLVED] state by the way.

  11. #10
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,168
    didn't find how to put it in [SOLVED] state by the way.
    Use thread tools in top of post. I guess Live CD/USB did not work out for you?

    I am not router proficient. I just input my address into my browser address bar and like 192.168.1.254/ check it/the router there
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •