Find the answer to your Linux question:
"The devil is in the details." It happens that I've been working with computers for more than 30 years, and am not afraid of the command line, but only recently ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Apache misinstalled?

"The devil is in the details." It happens that I've been working with computers for more than 30 years, and am not afraid of the command line, but only recently started a significant study of Linux. The sheer number of commands and options and scripts and utility programs is a bit overwhelming.

This particular computer was an old WinXP machine that I used to download and burn a very recent set of Debian CDs ("Wheezy"). Then I swapped out the hard drive for a blank one (80Gb), and installed Debian. Gnome is OK, but it is so "spare" of features reminds me a bit of Windows 95, where, when it first came out, its best feature was the ability to simultaneously run a bunch of DOS boxes. Here, I open several Terminal windows, as needed.

So far I have also managed to install gcc and a couple things that needed to be compiled, like Open Office. Along the way I found I wanted or needed things like a slightly friendlier text editor than vi ("leafpad"), some pkgconfig stuff, bzip2, 7zip, unzip, gzip (how many of those ARE there, anyway!? , GTK+, and so on. There were various issues that arose, for which I was able to find answers on the Web, thanks to others also running into those issues.

This latest issue, however, has me stumped. It happens that for Windows there is a web-server package called "WAMP", which is rather like "LAMP" except the "W" stands for "Windows". I've been toying with a web-site project for a couple years, as time allowed, and mostly didn't need to concern myself with much about how to use Apache. It basically just worked.