Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey everyone ! im new to linux and everything called server in general, just a home web devoloper taht needed his own server. Since i never used linux before i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Ftp error 553 ?

Hey everyone ! im new to linux and everything called server in general, just a home web devoloper taht needed his own server.

Since i never used linux before i have used google as my friend I have followed howtoforge.com/perfect-server-debian-squeeze-debian-6.0-with-bind-dovecot-and-nginx-ispconfig-3]The Perfect Server - Debian Squeeze (Debian 6.0) With BIND, Dovecot & Nginx [ISPConfig 3] | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials guide and now im stuck, i cant access my sever from dreamweaver.

It can't create the files when i upload them to the server (get a FTP access deined 553 error, cant create file etc.) but when i press "test ftp" and dont fil up any root directory it says that its working until i try to upload files to the server,my guess all along has been to chown the web1 user ( my Uid in ispconf to ftp user) but it already is the owner of that file or that there is something wrong with pureftpd? (saw somewhere that pureftp should have a .conf file, but i dont have any just a file with other conf to mysql and so on) so i cant figure out why i cant get access. Since im using a my lan ip to connect from my comp. to server is that an isssue?

Dont know much about linux so please if u explain something, wright what i should do so i dont have to google all the commands

Been stuck with this for 3days and cant figure it out

Linux Guru