Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By mbuell
  • 1 Post By mbuell
Hi all I have a raspberry pi with Raspbian installed and a 2 TB hard drive attached. I am very new to linux and would really appreciate any help. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Use Linux Machine as File Server and Mount It on Clients

Hi all

I have a raspberry pi with Raspbian installed and a 2 TB hard drive attached. I am very new to linux and would really appreciate any help.

I have uploaded many videos and photos onto the drive and would like a way to mount it as a folder on Mac and Windows machines so that I can access them.

I have tried tens of tutorials for setting up vsftpd as well as using sftp to no avail. I have a user named 'pi' that I use for SSH. There is another user named 'www-data' that owns all of the photos and videos (because they are in a folder that is synced with OwnCloud on a different computer). The reason I don't just use OwnCloud on this computer is that I don't want it to download all of the files onto the computer. Moreover, I simply want to mount the drive over the network so that I can use this computer with Plex Media Server to view the photos and videos on my Roku.

That being said, I need to be able to access the entire hard drive from the computer that it is network-mounted on, not just the home directory for pi.

I have encountered various problems every time I tried to set up vsftpd and sftp (probably all my fault), but like I said I am a beginner and would appreciate any and all help to get this working.

Thanks!

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by lasportsman13 View Post
    Hi all

I have a raspberry pi with Raspbian installed and a 2 TB hard drive attached. . . .
    and would like a way to mount it as a folder on Mac and Windows machines so that I can access them.
    . . .