Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By IsaacKuo
Hello, during this last few months a word came to me a lot of times... AMD, because I had a computer with AMD I couldn't use a few programs so ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    115

    Amd?


    Hello, during this last few months a word came to me a lot of times... AMD, because I had a computer with AMD I couldn't use a few programs so I decided to find a new pc.. and I did..
    I ran this command lscpu on it and this came out:
    Code:
    root@loadmaster:/# lscpu
    Architecture:          x86_64
    CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
    CPU(s):                2
    Thread(s) per core:    1
    Core(s) per socket:    2
    CPU socket(s):         1
    NUMA node(s):          1
    Vendor ID:             GenuineIntel
    CPU family:            6
    Model:                 15
    Stepping:              6
    CPU MHz:               1000.000
    L1d cache:             32K
    L1i cache:             32K
    L2 cache:              2048K
    It doesnt look like AMD I think but...for some reason the word AMD as shown up lots of times on it already..

    Code:
    squeeze/updates/main amd64 Packages
    Does this mean it is an AMD?

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,392
    No, your cpu is an intel.

    But the 64 bit x86 architecture is called amd64, because amd was the first to extend x86 to 64bit.
    Intel then followed this standard.
    And also debian decided to call the 64bit x86 packages amd64.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,885
    Could also be your video chips too. AMD also own what used to be the ATI graphics chipset brand - it could be you have a Radeon or similar video card, giving rise to you seeing the AMD logo/name from time to time.

    I'm curious to learn which applications you couldn't run, though. I have an AMD machine with the new processors with video chip and cpu on the same die - and there's nothing I can't do with it that my intel atom before it could do. The only difference is that it's now significantly quicker, and it uses about the same power...
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  4. #4
    Linux User IsaacKuo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA, USA
    Posts
    406
    It has nothing to do with video chips. It's only about the CPU.

    In the early 2000s, Intel developed their 64 bit processor line, "Itanium". It was not compatible with their popular 32 bit processors (Pentium line). Ultimately, it was not very popular. Nevertheless, Debian supported this CPU and called this branch ia64 -- short for Intel Architecture 64 bit.

    AMD, a rival CPU maker to Intel, developed their own 64 bit processor line, but this WAS compatible with Intel's popular 32 bit processors (Pentium line). This architecture goes by various names; the one used by Debian is amd64.

    Because of the high popularity of the AMD 64 bit processors, Intel developed their own 64 bit processors compatible with the AMD processors. Intel sales of these processors would overtake AMD sales.

    Your CPU is made by Intel, but it is compatible with the AMD 64 bit processor standard.
    docbop likes this.
    Isaac Kuo, ICQ 29055726 or Yahoo mechdan

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    18
    Problem with AMD its cant run some program, even you can;t run some script on that. Better to Get an Intel PC.

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,392
    Quote Originally Posted by tararojer View Post
    Problem with AMD its cant run some program, even you can;t run some script on that. Better to Get an Intel PC.
    Can you provide sources or examples for that claim?
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •