Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
Is the Debian version for PowerPC current? I'd like to replace MacOSX 10.4 on an old Powerbook G4 with Debian but I've never had much luck trying to install Debian ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Want to install Debian on a Powerbook G4

Is the Debian version for PowerPC current? I'd like to replace MacOSX 10.4 on an old Powerbook G4 with Debian but I've never had much luck trying to install Debian on a regular i386 PC. How does this Netinstall work? Will I be able to connect to wifi and install it that way? Thanks.

Linux Newbie
    Debian and WiFi is generally a challenge as often times a non-free driver is required. A netinstall basically builds a system by downloading the pieces as you go along. If you have a wired connection, it's worth a try. I have zero Mac experience so I can't help there...

Linux Guru
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/PowerPCDownloads

Only current I know of for PPC.
    sidzen likes this.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    I loaded my G5 with Debian, over a year ago, had some problems. To make sure what will work properly, I loaded a 'live' disk that isn't an install, but gives you enough tools to check out the items you are interested in. Generally wifi is out of the question, but if the Ethernet port will work you should be able to boot with net install and go. How it works is by loading a basic system, configure the network, then reach out to the mirrors to download the complete system as needed by your hardware. If it supports the Ethernet chipset you have it'll usually come up. If you depend on Wifi that may be different. Mine had Broadcomm chipset that you could get a blob for.