Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello, I was hoping to get someone to help me with Debian Linux. I need some help getting it installed with a desktop manager. I have little to no experience ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing Debian

Hello, I was hoping to get someone to help me with Debian Linux. I need some help getting it installed with a desktop manager. I have little to no experience with linux, altho I have a bit of experience with windows it does not help me when it comes to working with a new OS. I would appreciate any help.

Just Joined!
    Can we have a little more information?

Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    You might want to try playing with a LiveCD that's based on Debian. Some, like Mepis, will also let you install the OS on your harddrive relatively easily. The advantage to the LiveCD is that unless you tell it to, nothing gets written to your computer; the whole OS runs off your CDROM. It's a good way for a newbie to get the feel of the OS with no commitment or danger to their existing setup.

Knoppix is another good LiveCD distro.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!
    Thank you I will try out that livecd. What I am trying to do is setup debian like a desktop pc as seen in http://www.lynucs.org/?debian those screenshots. Something similar along them lines and I havn't the slightest clue how. I am trying to experiment with other OS's besides windows.

Banned
    Those screenshots are just Debian + GNOME.
    You have this by default if you simply install Ubuntu:
    http://www.ubuntulinux.org/

Quote Originally Posted by jens
    Those screenshots are just Debian + GNOME.
    You have this by default if you simply install Ubuntu:
    http://www.ubuntulinux.org/