Find the answer to your Linux question:
HI -- I've written a new tutorial on installing Debian. Please check it and lemme know if I need to tweak/modify it. Thanks, I appreciate it. I'm a lousy writer. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Tutorial: Installing Debian GNU/Linux, net install, DSL

HI --

I've written a new tutorial on installing Debian. Please check it and lemme know if I need to tweak/modify it. Thanks, I appreciate it. I'm a lousy writer.

installing debian sarge

machiner

Linux Newbie

Re: Tutorial: Installing Debian GNU/Linux, net install, DSL

Quote Originally Posted by machiner
    HI --

I've written a new tutorial on installing Debian. Please check it and lemme know if I need to tweak/modify it. Thanks, I appreciate it. I'm a lousy writer.

http://www.madcarters.com/archives/5...installer.html

machiner
    Not bad at all. I did not go over it with a fine toothed comb (or even a lloose toothed comb for that matter) but I did take a quick peek at it. Even if the details turn out to be not qute perfect, I think it's a decent tutorial and certainly encouragement for those who have felt that installing Debian GNU/Linux software is a daunting task.

My opinion (and I have expressed it many times) is that the Debian installer is too interactive. It forces you to stick around and answer a lot of questions over a fairly long period of time. I recognize that Debian systems support many architectures. Nevertheless, usability engineering suggests that, as much as possible, you design a clear, concise, smooth interface. That includes figuring out what you need to ask the person running your program. Ask as many things as you can at the same time, then go get the job done. Also, whenever possible and practical, provide a mechanism so that you don't have to run the application interactively at all.