Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Everytime I go to install Gentoo, it would get to the point of "emerge --emptytree system" and then it would get a bunch of "DMA Timeout" errors, and then eventually ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    6

    Problems with Debian/Gentoo/Any Distro Installation


    Everytime I go to install Gentoo, it would get to the point of "emerge --emptytree system" and then it would get a bunch of "DMA Timeout" errors, and then eventually freeze. I thought the hard drive was the problem, so I traded it in and received a brand new one. Same problem. I switched to Debian, hoping not to have that problem. Sure enough, while downloading packages, it had the same error.... Can someone please help?

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Try Slackware, and see what happens. It's a pretty easy install and way better than Gentoo...
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    193
    Probably problems with your drivers for your motherboard.

    Which brand of motherboard do you've got, because I know from the Asus A7N8X-E deluxe has problems this kind of problems.
    Computers Are Like Air Conditioners... They\'re both useless with Windows open!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    6
    I have a SiS 730/630 mobo in there... I've heard noapic may work?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    6
    The boot parameter "linux apic=off" for Debian does not work... Any other ideas?

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    I suspect you need to try using a 2.4.x kernel as your chipset is quite old and may not be supported in the newer 2.6.x kernels.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tollhouse. CA
    Posts
    25
    I have the ASUS A7N8X with no problems. I've used both Gentoo and Debian.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    6
    Yeah... I'd appreciate some actual HELP here... :-/

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    83
    Quote Originally Posted by Dapper Dan
    Try Slackware, and see what happens. It's a pretty easy install and way better than Gentoo...
    Second that.

  11. #10
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Do any of the live-cd distros such as Knoppix, DSL, Slax, etc, work okay on your box?

    I understand you might not want to install them... I'm just curious if they give you any kinds of errors or problems relating to your hardware.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •