Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
ok... i have an old laptop. dont know what is exactly in it (which i found out is not a good thing...)... anyway... the GUI isnt working, the screen goes ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    In me spaceship... ORBITING THE PLANNET!
    Posts
    110

    GUI not working!!


    ok... i have an old laptop. dont know what is exactly in it (which i found out is not a good thing...)... anyway... the GUI isnt working, the screen goes black, then goes to text, then back to black, and then back to text... and then an error pops up... now, i will give you the log of it but i dont know how to copy files using text mode... nor can i tell you what graphics card i am using...

    can i please have some help... thank-you
    GAH!!!

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    It's an X server problem. You don't have to copy the whole thing, just certain pertinent info that you'll see next to the double "E's" Likely you're getting an error about "no screens found" or something like that? You can write it down with a pen or pencil, then post it.

    To find out what video you are using, type at the command line:
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci
    Then enter. Find the section about your video card and write it down too. What make and model of monitor do you have?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    In me spaceship... ORBITING THE PLANNET!
    Posts
    110
    ok, ive typed in the /sbin/lspci code and it said no such file or directory...

    we might need to go threw this step by step... i am really new to this

    btw, me model of laptop is a toshiba Tecra 8000

    dont laugh to hard, i know its old...
    GAH!!!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Duh.... sorry. It's Debian....
    Do
    Code:
    lspci
    That ought to give it to you...
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    In me spaceship... ORBITING THE PLANNET!
    Posts
    110
    yeah, that did something correct... yay i can type smart stuff (joke)

    the card line says

    VGA compatible controller: Neomagic Corporation NM2200 [MagicGraph 256AV] (rev 11)
    and also it say other stuff, but i am assuming thats other stuff like me meth0...
    GAH!!!

  7. #6
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Did you write down those errors when the "GUI" won't come up? We need those... Look for, [EE] and write down what is beside them...

    We need to see your XF86 file. From the command line, type:
    Code:
     vi /etc/X11/XF86Config-4
    and press enter. When the file comes up, press the down arrow key until you see a section similar to this....
    Code:
    Section "Device"
            Identifier      "Generic Video Card"
            Driver          "i810"
            BusID           "PCI:0:2:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier      "DELL M570"
            HorizSync       30-70
            VertRefresh     50-160
            Option          "DPMS"
    EndSection
    To get out of vi, press ESC, then hold down shift, then the colon key, release the shift and colon key, press the x key and press enter.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    In me spaceship... ORBITING THE PLANNET!
    Posts
    110
    ok... that section you pointed me to, it reads this...

    Code:
    Section device:
                            Identifier           ¨NeoMagic Corporation NM2200 [MagicGraph 256AV¨
                           Diver                  ¨VGA¨
                           Video Ram         ¨ 1000¨
    Iĺl get the log... and look at it properly... brb
    GAH!!!

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    graphics card looks ok, look at your monitors vertical and horizontal sync ranges, which can also cause this and other similar problems, if you are unsure of what to set these ranges as you should be able to find them in a manual online.
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    In me spaceship... ORBITING THE PLANNET!
    Posts
    110
    ok... i found this EE thing...

    Code:
    (EE) VGA(0): Depth 16 not supported by this driver
    so... i think i have to change it...
    GAH!!!

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    In me spaceship... ORBITING THE PLANNET!
    Posts
    110
    good news everyone... the gui is now working!! YAY!!! LETS ALL PARTY!!!

    but i have come across another problem... GAH!!

    the MOUSE isnt working... well, its not moving on the screen... its one of those old green nobs on the key board... and they have two buttons... i could use dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86 and change the mouse, trial and error...

    but thatĺll take a long time... what mouse thingy should i set it to??
    GAH!!!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •