Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Now then i have entered my login (my loginname is called 'mig') and my password, it says, after it have loaded the clock and that: "The programs included with the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    43

    Can't load Debian


    Now then i have entered my login (my loginname is called 'mig') and my password, it says, after it have loaded the clock and that:

    "The programs included with the Debian GNU/Linux system are free software.
    The exact distrubutition terms for each are described in the individual files in /usr/share/doc/*/copyright

    Debian GNU/Linux comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANYY to the extend by appliable law.
    mig@D40AB641:~$ "

    and behind the $ in the end, i can write. Then i write it just says normal things like:
    "-bash: x: command not found"
    and
    "is a directory" and that kind of thing.

    Now what should i do? If i just press Enter without writing anything, a new mig@D40AB641:~$ just pops up. Please help me.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast aysiu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    633
    Have you tried typing startx?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    43
    Yes, but nothing happens then i type startx

    mig@D40AB641:~$startx
    -bash: startx: command not found

    Do you please got any ideas to what i should do?

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,120
    Quote Originally Posted by Okay123
    Yes, but nothing happens then i type startx

    mig@D40AB641:~$startx
    -bash: startx: command not found

    Do you please got any ideas to what i should do?
    Did you install an X server?
    Is this a fresh install, what image(cd) did you use for your installation?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    43
    It is a totally clean and fresh install. I used the ~180 mb internet-boot-iso.
    What is an X server? But as far as i know, i haven't seen any big X's. I downloaded the home-pc stuff from the list of "Server, home-pc, mail-server" and so on, in the middle of the installation.

    Please help me

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Turn Around
    Posts
    202
    type 'apt-get install x-window-system'
    then 'apt-get install gnome'

    just follow the instructions. just letting you know, you installed it fine. linux doesnt include a dektop environment.. u have to do that on ur own

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast aysiu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    633
    Okay, when you first installed Debian, how did you install the packages? According the the Debian documentation,

    You could always choose, package by package, what you want to install on your new machine. This is the purpose of the aptitude program, described below. But this can be a long task with around 15250 packages available in Debian!

    So, you have the ability to choose tasks first, and then add on more individual packages later. These tasks loosely represent a number of different jobs or things you want to do with your computer, such as “desktop environment”, “web server”, or “print server”


    If you select "desktop environment," x should be installed already. I've done this before with Debian. I know it installs x for you. Did you happen to choose individual packages uses aptitude?

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    Enter su, then root password. run dpkg-reconfigure gdm. Reboot and you should get the standard Debian Gnome greeter.
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Turn Around
    Posts
    202
    guys.. he probably didnt use any of the tasks.....
    type 'su'
    enter ur root password then hit enter
    type 'apt-get install x-window-system'
    then 'apt-get install gnome'

    now reboot with 'shutdown -r now'

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    I just installed rc3 and had it do the same exact thing. If you su/pw at the prompt and then enter gdm the Gnome greeter comes up. I performed the dpkg-configure gdm at the prompt, rebooted and the Gnome greeter came up automatically. I suspect there's still problems with the daily build.
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •