Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi, I'm the biggest linux 'newb' ever so go easy on me . I've installed Ubuntu off the CD, etc. yet my Wireless PCMCIA card does not seem to work. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11

    Wireless PCMCIA not working in Ubuntu


    Hi, I'm the biggest linux 'newb' ever so go easy on me .

    I've installed Ubuntu off the CD, etc. yet my Wireless PCMCIA card does not seem to work. It lights up as in power, but in network connections it doesn't come up. I've tried with a different wireless pcmcia card, and then with a wireless USB dongle and none of them worked!

    The wireless PCMCIA 1 / USB dongle were both linksys wireless B, both a load of letters then version 4. (mislaid atm so cant tell you exact details! lol) and the other wireless PCMCIA is an EZ Connect Wireless made by SMC. odel no. SMC2632W. This one doesnt even light up when its plugged in.

    The computer is a laptop - an Advent 7003 with an intel pentium 4, the specs can be found here. Its fairly powerful and runs ubuntu ok (i tried slackware initially, trying to jump in at the deep end, and i couldnt even get the screen to display properly).

    Any help would be appreciated, I'm pretty much going to need step by step instructions. I'm getting tempted to go back to Winxp!

    Thanks in advance anyone
    Rich

  2. #2
    Just Joined! rhthekida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    23
    I know this isn't going to answer you question but I am having a similar problem and instead of creating a new post, just replying and getting help.

    I have a Airlink 101 Cardbus Adapter - AWLC5025 and I'm trying to get it installed on my IBM laptop. As of now, I am having the same problem where I get power and no Link signal. Obviously this is due to my drivers, but I cannot find any deb drivers for this card. Any suggestions? or just a new card?

    Thanks.

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The Hot Humid South
    Posts
    602
    Both of you have pretty much the same options: Using ndiswrapper (which I have no experience with) or searching for a Linux driver for your specific adapter chipset. I've never had an experience with ndiswrapper, but many people say it's good (I went with the other suggestion and found the driver online, there's actually 2 driver's available for my chipset).

    Either way, it might be a good idea to mention if the command "iwconfig" give you anything useful.

  4. #4
    Just Joined! jrsoit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tempe, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    26
    I had a similar prob not to long ang and I put up a post how to with ndiswrapper, so do a forum search for "setting up wifi internet with ndiswrapper for n00bs.

    this should get you there and i did it all in kubuntu so all the steps should be the same for ubuntu

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...per-n00bs.html

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612
    When i put mine in i had to enable the card manually. You might need to go into your network devices and automatically enable it and set it up to be enabled at start up even.

    With Kubuntu ath0 wasn't automatically mapped for hotplug when i installed. Which distro are you using?
    Running Linux Since 2001
    Registered Linux User #430868 - Since 91206

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612
    Also, i don't know how much this will help you but here is a howto that was written for Athero's cards. It's for Fedora but can work for other distro's as well.

    Madwifi Howto
    Running Linux Since 2001
    Registered Linux User #430868 - Since 91206

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1

    Ubuntu 6 w/Belkin G+ in slot

    I have the same issue with Ubuntu 6, I have a Belkin Wireless G+, installed ndiswrapper and drivers from CD, but have no power to the PCMCIA port. Dev Mgr says it's there, but the port does not power on. Any ideas?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1

    Question Ubuntu 6 w/Belkin G in slot

    I have loaded Ubuntu Edgy on an Acer Travelmate 2500 laptop and it all works fine except like you, no power to the Belkin F5D7010uk pcmcia wifi card which is supposed to work out of the box.
    Any ideas?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •