Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

won't boot after upgrade

I was trying to upgrade from woody to sarge. I followed the instructions on http://www.debian.org/releases/stabl...rading.en.html. When I attempted to reboot I got the following error:

Boot from ATAPI cd-rom: failure...
    LI

I have searched the web and the only reference I can find to this error indicates that LILO needs to be rebuilt. Being a newbie, I'm not sure if this is accurate or what it even really means. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

sounds like you have the boot order in your bios set to cdrom. You should enter your bios and change boot order to boot from harddrive first.
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

Quote Originally Posted by spencerf
    sounds like you have the boot order in your bios set to cdrom. You should enter your bios and change boot order to boot from harddrive first.
    My BIOS was set for floppy, cd then hd0. This is how it's always been and used to work before I tried this upgrade.

Anyway, I changed it to boot from hard drive 1st and now just get

LI

on screen. Uuuuug. Any ideas?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    did you update the kernel?

Note that the Linux kernel was not upgraded by these procedures. You may wish to do so yourself, either by installing one of the kernel-image-* packages or by compiling a customized kernel from sources.

If you are currently using a kernel from the 2.4 series, the older stable Linux kernel series, you may wish to upgrade to a 2.6 series kernel for better hardware support or improved performance.