Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Well, I installed Ubuntu on my computer recently. the installation went completely fine, no errors at all. I boot up (GRUB dual-boot), and Ubuntu loads. But, instead of getting into ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    84

    [UBUNTU] not booting...


    Well, I installed Ubuntu on my computer recently. the installation went completely fine, no errors at all. I boot up (GRUB dual-boot), and Ubuntu loads. But, instead of getting into the GUI like it should, it shows a full-screen of multi-colored stripes and lines and blotches. I tried Ctrl+Alt+Backspace, and it gave me the login prompt (in plain-text, black screen,white text instead of GUI), and whenever I pressed any key from the login, it went back to the colors. The strange thing seems to be is that the GUI is never shown at any point, and Ubuntu comes with a GUI installed.

    BUT, EVEN STRANGER, I used THE EXACT SAME INSTALLER DISK on a different computer, and it worked absolutely perfectly. This is why I assume something on my computer might not be compatible with Ubuntu. Maybe my Graphics Card since it is the GUI that isnt working, and it shows all those colors?

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    484
    Hi
    Please forgive me, my english is very wrong.

    The color stripes mean your video configuration isn't correct.
    You need your monitor parameters :
    -max resolution
    -vertcal and horizontal refresh range

    and when you have this datas , you need to reconfigure your xserver.
    If you use xfree86 then the xf86config is the command, in case you use xorg you need figure out what is the command and follow the instruction.

    With CTRL+ALT+F1 you can change to a teminal screen , login as root , and run the comannd .

    Have fun!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    84
    I knew I shouldnt have changed the resolution things in setup...

    thanks! But, how do I know wether I run xfree86 or xorg?

    and another prob, I was never asked to set a root password, so I cannot log in as root.

  4. #4
    Linux User truoc444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Southern Roots, Stuck in the Mountains
    Posts
    348
    ubuntu uses xorg so typically it's /etc/X11/xorg.conf that you need to modify.

    with ubuntu there isn't a root login. at the command prompt just type sudo <whatever command you want> <ENTER>
    and it will ask for your password just type in whatever password you use for login and your root just use that sudo command every time you want to do something as root. there is a way to set it up with a root password after you're logged in but i can't remember how to do it.
    Desktop: Dual Xeon 2.8 GHz 1.5 GB RAM Ubuntu/XP Pro
    Laptop: Macbook 2 GHz C2Duo 3 GB RAM OS X/ Ubuntu/ XP Pro
    Linux Registration #396559

    Go 'Stros!

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    84
    ok, but what do I need to edit in this file?

  6. #6
    Linux User truoc444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Southern Roots, Stuck in the Mountains
    Posts
    348
    probably resolution or refresh rate (horizontal and vertical sync)
    Desktop: Dual Xeon 2.8 GHz 1.5 GB RAM Ubuntu/XP Pro
    Laptop: Macbook 2 GHz C2Duo 3 GB RAM OS X/ Ubuntu/ XP Pro
    Linux Registration #396559

    Go 'Stros!

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    84
    but, how do I know what to change them to?

  8. #8
    Linux User truoc444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Southern Roots, Stuck in the Mountains
    Posts
    348
    you need to find the specs of your specific monitor. on the back it usually tells you the refresh rates. google to find the max resolution and make sure you're not over on that.
    Desktop: Dual Xeon 2.8 GHz 1.5 GB RAM Ubuntu/XP Pro
    Laptop: Macbook 2 GHz C2Duo 3 GB RAM OS X/ Ubuntu/ XP Pro
    Linux Registration #396559

    Go 'Stros!

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    84
    how do I change the file since I can't get into Linux...?

  10. #10
    Linux User truoc444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Southern Roots, Stuck in the Mountains
    Posts
    348
    boot it failsafe and see if yo uget a command prompt. from there use a text based text editor such as vim and edit the file. your refresh rates should be printed on the monitor itself or you can google for them. i typically make the range a little more conservative than the actual specs say.
    Desktop: Dual Xeon 2.8 GHz 1.5 GB RAM Ubuntu/XP Pro
    Laptop: Macbook 2 GHz C2Duo 3 GB RAM OS X/ Ubuntu/ XP Pro
    Linux Registration #396559

    Go 'Stros!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •