Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 109
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Hax-X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    N.S._CA
    Posts
    94

    Angry bcm4306 fc5 help please!!!!!!!!!!!


    OK im really getting frustrated..... Linux is the cream of the crop
    But i absolutely need my BCM4306 wifi up and running.

    iv tryed ndiswrapper & linuxant on other distros

    heres some info ive gathered from my sys i figured anyone that can give valuble info and insight would understand the way ive recorded the data ive tryed distro after distro and am know on FC5 BordeaxDVD edition and XPpro-sp2 and have had alot of headway with my problem using this FC5.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I ran this in terminal
    [root@localhost ~]# /sbin/ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:C0:9F:C2:0D:00
    inet addr:192.168.2.51 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::2c0:9fff:fec2:d00/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:3540 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:3949 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1649500 (1.5 MiB) TX bytes:796022 (777.3 KiB)
    Interrupt:18 Base address:0xc000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2313 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2313 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:2410918 (2.2 MiB) TX bytes:2410918 (2.2 MiB)
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Notebook model:
    HP ze2115us
    OS:
    XPpro (the devil)
    FC5

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    -Following info comes from KInfoCenter/PCI-

    {Line 1}-05:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 03)
    {Line 2}-Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Unknown device 12f8
    {Line 3}-Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 64, IRQ 3
    {Line 4}-Memory at d0204000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8k]

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    -Following info comes from KInfoCenter/Network Interfaces
    -Name:
    eth0
    -IP Addy:
    192.168.2.51
    -Netmask:
    255.255.255.0
    -Type:
    Broadcast
    -State:
    Up
    |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    -Name:
    lo
    -IP Addy:
    127.0.0.1
    -Netmask:
    255.0.0.0
    -Type:
    Loopback
    -State:
    Up
    |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Heres a little space of links to sites ive found that might be usefull for solving this problem

    http://bcm-specs.sipsolutions.net/

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    can you post the result from these commands:
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -l
    /sbin/iwconfig
    /sbin/route
    execute them as root. And what problems have you encountered while trying to install ndiswrapper?

    the entry for eth0 looks more like your wired ethernet card rather than the wireless one.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Just Joined! Hax-X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    N.S._CA
    Posts
    94

    //AlexK//

    i inputted the commands into terminal

    command:
    /sbin/iwconfig
    Gave these results:
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    sit0 no wireless extensions.

    Command:
    /sbin/route
    Gave me:
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.2.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 * 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    default 192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

    and in case it matters i did this while editing the forum so stats arent different than while connected

    is it possible that being on a wired connection might prevent my wifi from doing anything


    As a side question for u though i noticed that ur on gentoo i have head that u have to compile the whole damn distro to install it is that true or can i get it in a similar way as mandriva/fc4,5/vector u know a precompiled graphical install on DVD 5 mostly


    in advance thanks

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User yourname3232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    262
    Could you please post the output of
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -l
    and it is a lowercase 'L' as root
    Registered GNU/Linux User #399198
    'Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.' -Steven Wright

  6. #5
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Quote Originally Posted by Hax-X
    is it possible that being on a wired connection might prevent my wifi from doing anything
    What we are trying to do now is just load the drivers for the wireless card, once the drivers are loaded, we'll need to disable the wired card, but that is later. And like yourname3232 and myself, asked, please post back the result from ndiswrapper -l command.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hax-X
    As a side question for u though i noticed that ur on gentoo i have head that u have to compile the whole damn distro to install it is that true or can i get it in a similar way as mandriva/fc4,5/vector u know a precompiled graphical install on DVD 5 mostly
    Not necessarily, If you go for a stage 3 install, the base system is already compiled for you. All you really have to do is just setup various options in make.conf, compile your kernel and you are good to go. you don't actually need to compile things by hand as portage already contains the scripts to perform the compilation for you. However if you decide to go for a stage 1 install, then you will have to compile the base system from scratch etc.... but portage will still compile other stuff for you e.g. KDE and any other programs you might need. The 2006.0 install media has what you are looking for, a graphical install with some precompiled packages, but some people report bugs with it though.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  7. #6
    Just Joined! Hax-X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    N.S._CA
    Posts
    94

    ndis

    I ran the command in terminal as root and got:
    command not found


    "daiben"

    as soon as i did this i realized ndis didnt get installed Or most likely not

    i had given up on ndis

    so this leaves me with the problem of "How do i install the "ndiswrapper_drivers-1.0-noarch-4vl5"
    file that i got from sourceforge

    "Aragato Gozaimasu"

  8. #7
    Just Joined! Hax-X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    N.S._CA
    Posts
    94

    ok things alittle different but still no closer heres the differences

    This afternoon i had a freind look at the problem who has had atleast a little expereince with FC4 he said there was something weird about my file structure and to try a complete reinstall so i did leaving my satanic partion alone (winXP) i selected remove previus linux partitions and pre config partitions during the install of FC5

    everything is without a hitch except this damn wifi issue

    i went to sourceforge and picked up the ndiswrapper file "ndiswrapper_drivers-1.0-noarch-4vl5.tgz"

    So i came back here and repeated the steps i already followed under you ever so appreciated guidance.



    I ran this in terminal same as before and the differences from the original attempt is bettween ****four asteriks on each side****
    [root@localhost ~]# /sbin/ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:C0:9F:C2:0D:00
    inet addr:192.168.2.51 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::2c0:9fff:fec2:d00/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    ****RX packets:1445 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1450 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0****
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    ****RX bytes:731666(714.5 KiB) TX bytes:291686 (284.8 KiB)
    Interrupt:18 Base address:0x2000****

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    ****RX packets:2370 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2370 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0****
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    ****RX bytes:2478298 (2.3 MiB) TX bytes:2478298 (2.3 MiB)****


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The commands that you wanted me to post results from are here!!!!

    [root@localhost ~]# ndiswrapper -l
    -bash: ndiswrapper: command not found
    [root@localhost ~]#

    Im Assuming that this means that ndiswrapper is not installed?????

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [root@localhost ~]# /sbin/iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    sit0 no wireless extensions.

    [root@localhost ~]#

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    [root@localhost ~]# /sbin/route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.2.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 * 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    default 192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
    [root@localhost ~]#

  9. #8
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    try /sbin/ndiswrapper -l

    As for how to install ndiswrapper from source, follow this tutorial. Post back any errors you encounter and we will take it one step at a time.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  10. #9
    Just Joined! Hax-X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    N.S._CA
    Posts
    94

    /sbin/ndiswrapper -l

    [root@localhost ~]# /sbin/ndiswrapper -l
    -bash: /sbin/ndiswrapper: No such file or directory
    [root@localhost ~]#

    by the way i tried linuxant in the mean time and it gave me a bunch of stuff about my kernel stack

    i saved the linuxant page incase its relivence when this happened

  11. #10
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    -->
    follow the tutorial I linked to in my previous post to get ndiswrapper compiled. Alternatively, you could download a precompiled version of ndiswrapper for FC5 from http://rpm.pbone.net . do an advanced search and search for Fc5 rpm's only.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •